A listing of local archives that will have primary source collections concerning Ohio History.
- Oxford/Butler County
- Miami University Archives
The Archives contains manuscripts, publications, photographs, and artifacts dealing with Miami University history.
- Western College Memorial Archives
The archives lays claim to materials from the Board of Trustee records dating back to 1853, original material from Western College's various Presidents (including Helen Peabody, Leila McKee and William Boyd), an impressive photograph collection
- Walter Havighurst Special Collections
Holds some of the rare, early, or seminal documents of the University.
- Smith Library of Regional History
Local Oxford history materials
- Butler County Historical Society
The Society maintains a resource library of historical records and documents relating to the county that can be used by the public for research. The Society also owns and operates four historic sites: the Butler County Heritage Center, Cooper Cabin Pioneer Homestead, the Little Red School House, and the Lowrie/Shaw House.
- Oxford Museum Association
The Oxford Museum Association is entrusted with an exceptional collection of artifacts typical of rural farm life in the 19th century. Items are displayed in the Doty Homestead and the DeWitt Log Homestead.
- McGuffey Museum
19th Century house on Miami's campus. Collection of artifacts and McGuffey Readers.
- Greater Cincinnati
- Greater Dayton
- Montgomery County Historical Society
Dayton History is Montgomery County’s official historical organization. Consisting of Carillon Historical Park, the Archive Center, Kettering-Moraine Museum, Hawthorn Hill and Patterson Homestead, Dayton History brings the past to life to understand the present and inspire the future by collecting, preserving, interpreting, presenting and promoting the region’s past.
- State of Ohio
- Ohio Historical Society
The Archives/Library of the Ohio Historical Socieyt collects, preserves, and makes available to the public written and graphic information concerning Ohio's history. As the State Archives of Ohio, it is the designated repository for state government records of enduring historical value.