FYIC/BUS 104: Home

Welcome

The resources on this page will help you find strong and credible research and data for your client project. Search the databases and websites below for information on the industry. Use the handout linked below to help you search effectively. For more help, try the database videos linked on the left side of the screen. You can find citation guidelines there too. Contact Abi Morgan or Zac Grisham for more assistance if needed.

FYIC/BUS 102 Library Resources Handout

Company Website

Rooted Grounds Coffee

Coffee Industry Information

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
A resource for full-text industrial market research reports. Reports are available in variety of areas including mining, construction, wholesale and retail distribution, manufacturing, agriculture, transportation, education, financial services, arts, entertainment, accommodations and food service, and more. Search by keyword, NAICS or SIC codes.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics & reports; insights into consumers and markets include brand share, sales channels, and more. Scope is US, international, global.
Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.
Hoover's D&B Business Browser This link opens in a new window
This resource provides U.S. and international company and industry information. This source includes company financial data and corporate family trees, information on competitors, SWOT analyses, and analyst reports. Previously known as OneSource. 50 simultaneous users.

Company/Competitor Research

PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Pitchbook has set the login to an SSO. Instructions for accessing Pitchbook can be found here.

The PitchBook platform provides access to information about private companies, venture capital, private equity, and M&A transactions for startups and high growth companies, including pre- and post-money valuations, investment amounts, investment round (seed, series a, etc.), angel group and institutional investor names, and investee information (founder and CEO names, location, age, degrees, etc.). Provided and managed by the Farmer School of Business Entrepreneurship Department.
In addition to transactional data, PitchBook also provides detailed information on institutional investment firms (for both venture capital and private equity), including the partners/directors at each firm, the limited partners, individual fund amount and performance, investment portfolio (by fund), and more.
Marketline This link opens in a new window
Marketline consists of reports on 10,000 companies in the US and internationally, as well as 2,000 industry reports and in-depth country and city reports. It also includes mergers & acquisitions data.
Hoover's D&B Business Browser This link opens in a new window
This resource provides U.S. and international company and industry information. This source includes company financial data and corporate family trees, information on competitors, SWOT analyses, and analyst reports. Previously known as OneSource. 50 simultaneous users.

Coffee Consumer Databases

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics & reports; insights into consumers and markets include brand share, sales channels, and more. Scope is US, international, global.
Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
NOTE: You will need to create an account to download data. See this tip sheet about how to register:

Has full-text in-depth market research reports and infographics covering consumer segments such as automotive, clothing, health, food, retail, travel, etc. Also reports on specific demographics (millennials, affluent consumers, multicultural, children, etc.), and specific themes (convenience, ethical, social media, mobile, etc.). Includes some global coverage.
MRI-Simmons This link opens in a new window
MRI Simmons Catalyst is a database of US consumer survey data that provides information on who consumes what, and connects that to the consumers' demographics and media usage. For help using Simmons Insights, see this tip sheet. Use is limited to 10 simultaneous users.