Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by healthcare professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.
Subject Headings follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine.
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) freely accessible interface to the MEDLINE bibliographic database, covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biomedical engineering, the health care system, and the basic biomedical sciences.
MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from biomedical journals published in the United States and other countries. The database contains citations dating back to the mid-1950's. Journal articles are indexed for MEDLINE using NLM's subject heading system, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making. Cochrane Reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
This comprehensive research database provides full-text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL Plus. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
Covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
, including full text from Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more. In addition, this database includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs.
High quality resources focused on the older population. Includes policies, issues, theories of aging, and more.
It is a valuable source of information on the delivery of health care to the older population and its associated costs and policies are particularly well covered, as are public policy issues, theories of aging, Social Security, Medicare/Medicaid, marketing to older adults, elder care, Alzheimer’s, financial and retirement planning, fitness, nutrition, and housing.
This rich collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full-text for current health pamphlets.
Content includes: nearly 30 active full-text non-open access magazines, 100 full-text reference books, more than 18,800 Clinical Reference Systems reports, and full-text for current health pamphlets.
Consumer Health Complete supports the information needs of patients and fosters an overall understanding of health-related topics. This resource provides content covering all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine.
Subjects include: aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, fitness, and nutrition and dietetics.
PsycInfo is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
Subject include: psychology, speech pathology and audiology, nursing, gerontology, social work, American studies, educational psychology, educational leadership, disability studies.
SPORTDiscus with full-text is the definitive database for sports and sports medicine research. Providing hundreds of full-text sports medicine journals, it is an essential tool for health professionals and researchers studying fitness, health and sports.
Subjects include: clinical specialties, coaching and education, consumer health, exercise science and fitness, health education, kinesiology, nutrition, occupational health and safety, physical education, physical therapy, and sports sciences.
Alt Healthwatch is a full-text alternative health research database focused on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers the latest information about the evolving practice of holistic medicine and therapies.
Subjects include: Acupuncture, aromatherapy, body work, childbirth, Chinese medicine, chiropractic, creative therapies, cross-cultural therapies, energy medicine, herbalism, homeopathy, mind-body medicine, naturopathy, nutrition, and osteopathy.
Databases to find articles in popular magazines and newspapers
This database combines 80 different databases into one searchable spot for your article needs. It combines peer-reviewed journals along with more popular sources. To find popular articles, check the "Magazines" and/or "News" option under "Limit by Material Type" on the left side of the results screen after you run a search. That will eliminate scholarly sources from your results.
You can use the EJournals Finder to search for a specific journal title and see if we have it available in full-text for you to read or browse. You can also use the Browse Journals by Discipline option to look at an alphabetical list of journals related to health and medicine.
Guides and Examples of Writing in Medicine and Related Professions
This guide developed by the University of Toronto also contains information on a wide range of writing types. Note: To access the full-text on a topic, select either the PDF or HTML link to the right of the topic name in the table of contents.
This handout will explain what literature reviews are and offer insights into the form and construction of literature reviews in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.