Speech Pathology & Audiology: Data and Assessments
Finding Tests/Measures
Before you start looking for tests and measures, it is important to understand the differences between "published" and "unpublished" tests and measures.
Published (commercial) tests can generally only be used with permission and are typically purchased. Tests and measures covered in the Mental Measurements Yearbook are in this category and include some of the well known tests. While the library can help you obtain information about these measures, we generally cannot get the test itself. To do that you must contact the test publisher/vendor.
Not published (noncommercial) tests are not sold commercially, but rather available via research articles, handbooks or other means. Research articles almost never have the full test/measure. So, you will have to contact the original author to obtain the complete instrument.
For more in depth information you can check out the FAQ from APA (American Psychological Association) or contact your psychology librarian for help.
Finding Tests/Measures
- HaPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments) This link opens in a new windowProvides assessment batteries in Psychology, Medicine, Nursing, Communication and more. Provides validity, reliability, and other related data. Refine search by measure, population, or variables of interest. Includes questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists,projective techniques, and more. Linked to from scholarly articles indexed in PsycINFO when relevant.
- PsycTESTS (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowReady-to-use tests and measures featuring instruments relevant to psychology, education and more. Provides access to thousands of actual test instruments, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research. Detailed test records include a summary, background information, development history, purpose, reliability and validity data (when available), test format and the citation for the peer-reviewed source documents.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new windowContains information about standardized tests. Includes IQ and achievement skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. Information about each test includes the test author, publication and scoring information, an overview of the test, and the full text of one or more reviews in which validity is often addressed.
- Australian Center on Quality of Life MeasuresList of Quality of Life Measures for various populations and topics (older adults, psychiatry, etc.)
- ETS Test CollectionMore than 25,000 tests and measurement devices, most of which were created by authors outside ETS. It makes information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students and teachers. With information about tests from the early 1900s to the present, the Test Collection at ETS is the largest compilation in the world.
- Questionnaire Instrument Compendium (QIC)Links to free assessments provided by author.
- Tests and Measures in the Social SciencesAn index to tests and measurement tools used in psychology, sociology, health, marketing, management, and more. Each entry contains: test title, test acronym, copyright or publication date(s), author(s), and source citation.