ESP 461- Entrepreneurial Consulting: Home

Business Data (& More)

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics & reports; insights into consumers and markets include brand share, sales channels, and more. Scope is US, international, global.
Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
This web-based mapping application allows users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables Access is limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Miami's subscription includes access to data from the EASI Standard Package (which includes data from the year 2000, 2010, Current Estimates, and Five Year Projections), the EASI Life Stages Package, the Experian SimmonsLOCAL, and the Nielsen Claritas PRIZM&‌Acirc; Data Packages.

Useful Government Resources

Data.Census.Gov
The census bureau's main data dissemination platform and the successor to American Fact Finder.
Census- North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
Census Regions & Divisions US
Map of what states make up the different regions and subregions

Useful Statistics Sites

Pew Research Center
Reliable organization that uses surveys and other data gathering tools to find a variety of information about the U.S. population.

Use their search box or look at topics alphabetically.

Company Research

FactSet This link opens in a new window
NOTE: Users must create an account via THIS LINK.
FactSet is a research database that provides global company, market, and industry data, analytical tools and data feeds. It provides economic and financial data, including ESG, fixed income, commodities, futures, as well as company and industry analyses and real-time news. Provided and managed by the Farmer School of Business.
Hoover's D&B Business Browser This link opens in a new window
This resource provides U.S. and international company and industry information. This source includes company financial data and corporate family trees, information on competitors, SWOT analyses, and analyst reports. Previously known as OneSource. 50 simultaneous users.
Marketline This link opens in a new window
Marketline consists of reports on 10,000 companies in the US and internationally, as well as 2,000 industry reports and in-depth country and city reports. It also includes mergers & acquisitions data.
PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Pitchbook has set the login to an SSO. Instructions for accessing Pitchbook can be found here.

The PitchBook platform provides access to information about private companies, venture capital, private equity, and M&A transactions for startups and high growth companies, including pre- and post-money valuations, investment amounts, investment round (seed, series a, etc.), angel group and institutional investor names, and investee information (founder and CEO names, location, age, degrees, etc.). Provided and managed by the Farmer School of Business Entrepreneurship Department.
In addition to transactional data, PitchBook also provides detailed information on institutional investment firms (for both venture capital and private equity), including the partners/directors at each firm, the limited partners, individual fund amount and performance, investment portfolio (by fund), and more.

Industry Research

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
A resource for full-text industrial market research reports. Reports are available in variety of areas including mining, construction, wholesale and retail distribution, manufacturing, agriculture, transportation, education, financial services, arts, entertainment, accommodations and food service, and more. Search by keyword, NAICS or SIC codes.
BCC Research This link opens in a new window
On campus access only. BCC Research provides detailed market research reports in emerging industries including biotech, healthcare, pharmaceuticals, and information technology.
To login click on the Member Login button, then the IP Authenticate button.
Login/password required

Consumer Research

Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
NOTE: You will need to create an account to download data. See this tip sheet about how to register:

Has full-text in-depth market research reports and infographics covering consumer segments such as automotive, clothing, health, food, retail, travel, etc. Also reports on specific demographics (millennials, affluent consumers, multicultural, children, etc.), and specific themes (convenience, ethical, social media, mobile, etc.). Includes some global coverage.
MRI-Simmons This link opens in a new window
MRI Simmons Catalyst is a database of US consumer survey data that provides information on who consumes what, and connects that to the consumers' demographics and media usage. For help using Simmons Insights, see this tip sheet. Use is limited to 10 simultaneous users.

International Research

Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
An extensive country-by-country resource for learning about culture, customs, history, and language worldwide. It consists of country guides, which include information on business, climate, culture and society, demographics and economics, education, government, health, history, maps, religion, and more.