chat loading...

ENG 262 (Kickel) by Brea McQueen: Academic Databases

Important Note

Please be sure to review the information on the Before You Search! tab on the left menu before you begin searching in the tools listed on this tab. The Before You Search! tab explains what a "peer reviewed" article is and how to tell when you have found one. It also gives tips for building more effective searches. There are brief videos and tutorials that explain how to choose the best keywords, refine your searches, and evaluate the information you find.

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A broad index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete covers most academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Academic Search Complete provides abstracts for more than 9,300 scholarly and popular periodicals, with full-text for more than 5,300 of these.
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
A full-text database that provides information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. LRC combines information from major respected reference works, books, and literary journals, as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Includes more than 10,000 articles from the Salem Press Masterplots series.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Designed for undergraduate students, this contains information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more, drawn from these sources: Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism (starting with vol. 95), and Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature. In addition it provides selected full-text, excerpted critical materials, articles from 260 literary journals, and links to selected websites.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
An index to scholarly articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations published internationally on modern (Medieval to today) languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics (including composition and rhetoric since 2000). Coverage has varied but now includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. Some full-text.

Children's Literature Databases

Children's Picture Book Database (Miami University) This link opens in a new window
A collection of picture book abstracts searchable by topics, concepts, and skills for building content area reading across all academic subjects. The collection contains abstracts of over 5,700 picture books for children, preschool to grade three.
Search over 900 keywords (topics, concepts, and skills) to locate books with storylines adaptable to your curriculum or program. The Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University is also a useful collection for English Language Learners and adult literacy programs.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window
Includes thematic reading lists, children's book award search, and extensive information about 3 million children's books and media.
Search for specific subjects, titles, authors, and see the associated reviews, prepare annotated lists/bibliographies, identify reading levels, and link to author/illustrator sites and curriculum tools.

The following resources are available to you as a Miami University student, but would require you to be ON Oxford's campus to access them.

Children's Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Oxford campus users only. Find recommended books and book reviews on children's literature for preschool through sixth grade. Includes over 13,000 titles of books and magazines. Oxford campus users only.
Middle and Junior High Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Quickly generate a booklist by grade level that only includes highly recommended titles. Despite name, goes up to grade 12. Oxford campus users only.
For libraries serving readers in grades five through nine, this catalog provides indispensable help with collection development and maintenance, curriculum support, selection and purchasing, readers' advisory, and general reference. There are entries for nonfiction works, fiction and collections for children and adolescents, plus review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available.
Senior High Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Quickly generate a booklist by grade level that only includes highly recommended titles. Despite name, also includes a few books for elementary/middle grades. Oxford campus users only.

Last Updated: Jan 19, 2024 12:17 PM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/ENG262K
Print Page