The brief videos and tutorials on this page show how to choose the best keywords, refine a search, and evaluate the information you find. There is also information explaining what a "peer reviewed" article is and teaching you to build more effective searches.
Choosing and Using Keywords (tutorial)
Refining Search Results (video)
Evaluating Information (tutorial)
How to Read Scholarly Materials (tutorial)
What does "peer reviewed" article mean?
Peer review is the process by which articles are selected for publication in academic or scholarly journals. The articles are evaluated for accuracy, proper research methodology, and the correct interpretation and use of data. This review process is done by other experts or researchers in the same field of study who are the authors' peers, and that's how the process got its name. Articles in magazines, also called popular articles, do not undergo this type of review process, although an editor does do basic fact checking and make grammar corrections. Peer reviewed articles are also sometimes called "scholarly articles" or even "journal articles." If your assignment instructions use any of these phrases, the instructor probably wants you to use peer reviewed articles. It is best to clarify directions with your instructor when there is any uncertainty.
How do I know if an article has been peer reviewed?
Most article databases have a checkbox that allows you to limit your search to only journals that include a peer review process. You still need to make sure the item you want to use is an article, however, because peer reviewed journals have other types of information in them besides reviewed articles. For example, they may have a section of reviews of new books that have been published in their field, or they may publish opinion pieces or letters to the editor. None of those go through a peer review process.
For more information
Watch this video about Peer Review to learn more!
“And”, “Or”, “Not” (Boolean Operators): Use the words to narrow or expand your search results. For Example:
Use an * at the end of a root word to find all variations of that word. For example, child* will search for child, children, childhood, and children's.
Brainstorm words or concepts that are similar in meaning and use those as search terms.
If you find a good resource, look at the “Subject Headings” or “Descriptors” listed and use those as additional search terms.
Bibliographies/References/Works Cited pages are great ways to find additional resources. You can search the library’s Catalogs and/or Databases to find copies of the sources cited in an article or book that was perfectly on topic for you.
If your results list is very large and you have too many articles to sift through (anything more than 200-300 items), You should use the limit menu on the left side of the results list. This menu shows a wide variety of options for how to more narrowly describe the types of information or articles that you want. Some options that are typically available include: when the articles were published, the type of article (magazine, newspaper, journal article?), a more specific topic (female college students rather than college students), and so on. This screenshot shows the limit options for Academic Search Complete and other databases from Ebscohost.
Some databases include the full text of the articles described in the them. However, most databases do not. When the database does not have the full text of an article, you should see a yellow Find It button like the one above.
Clicking this button will search through other databases that Miami subscribes to looking for the full text. If a different database has it, you will see a link to it on the new tab that opens. If there is no full text link on the new tab, you should see a link to a form for a service called interlibrary loan (ILL). If you fill out this form, the library will try to find the article from another library on your behalf. This can take several days, however, so if you need the article right away, it is not a good option for you.