English Language Learners (ELL): Research Help

Library Terms Translated
A list of commonly used library terms translated into Chinese, Korean, Japanese, French, and Spanish.

Library Terms Defined
A list of commonly used library terms defined in plain English.

Multilingual Glossary
The Multilingual Glossary database (State Library of new South Wales) contains common library phrases in 49 languages, including Chinese.

Finding journal articles
Journal articles can be found using the Libraries' subject databases.

To locate journal articles on a particular topic, visit the "Subject & Course Guides" section on the library's home page. Then, select the "Journal Articles" tab. This page will list the databases that contain articles and article citations on that particular topic.

Some databases cover a range of topics. If you don't know what subject page to choose, try starting with a database called "Academic Search Complete", which covers many subject areas.
 

Search tip: Some of our databases only contain information about an article, but not the full text. To locate the full text of an article, click the "Find It" button. This will tell you if we have the full text available in a different database.

When researching and writing for your courses, it is essential to cite the sources of information you use. This is the case if you use another scholar's words and if you use their ideas but explain them in your own words.
These resources will help you to understand when a citation is necessary and how to correctly format your citations.