CMR 361 - Marketing Small Business
Welcome!
My name is Mark Shores and I'm a librarian at the Hamilton campus of Miami University Regionals. Please email me using the button under my picture if you have any questions.
This course guide has links to Miami University's subscription-based tools for doing market research. You should also look at the research tools listed by the Small Business Administration, which includes consumer statistics, demographics, employment statistics, and more. For finding the NAICS code for your product, look at the NAICS website or search the Internet using the phrase "NAICS code for [insert your business type or industry]
Best Bets
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowIbisworld is a source for in-depth full-text US industry research reports. Includes all aspects of the US economy including manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, and service sectors.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowGreat source for Marketing statistics - use the limiters on the left side to limit by country or type of data. Download as a PowerPoint, PDF, etc.
Articles from Newspapers and Journals
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete indexes thousands of popular and scholarly business journals, many of which are available in full-text, including Harvard Business Review. This also finds articles in the Wall Street Journal.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowSource for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media. Previously called LexisNexis Academic.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowA news database that includes regional business journals, newspapers, newswires, and now blogs, covering all areas of the US. Most are available as full-text.It can be searched simultaneously with related Ebsco sources such as Business Source Complete
- Small Business Reference Center This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text access to many small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. It includes business videos, a help and advice section and details on how to create business plans. Also included are state-specific resources, start-up business plans, and industry information.
Citing Your Sources
APA Examples - Business Databases - Not all business/marketing databases have a built-in citation tool, so this page will help you make citations yourself.
MLA Examples - Business Databases
Business Sources In-Text Citation Examples - a model for creating in-text citations using examples from Statista, a trade association website, and other marketing databases.
Your Librarian at Hamilton
205 Schwarm
Miami University Regionals (Hamilton)