Film: Reference
Reference Works
Reference works are a good source to go to find out background information on a topic or to look up a quick fact. This page will combine both online and print reference works. Most of print reference works will be located on the lower floor of King Library, in the Instructional Media Center (IMC).
Online Reference Works
- Biography in Context This link opens in a new windowBiographical articles on people from throughout history, around the world, and across all subject areas from multiple Gale reference publications, such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, and Dictionary of American Biography. Updated continuously
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Cinema and Media StudiesOxford Bibliographies in Cinema and Media Studies has recruited many of the finest scholars in cinema and media studies to chart a path through the information thicket and toward a carefully organized, thoroughly peer-reviewed account of the most important books, articles, and Web sites.
The Encyclopedia of Sexism in American Films by Call Number: PN1995.9.W6 E528 2020ebISBN: 9781538115510Publication Date: 2019-11-29The Encyclopedia of Sexism in American Films closely examines the many, pervasive forms of sexism in contemporary productions--from clueless comedies to superhero blockbusters, with more than 130 entries.
- Oxford Bibliography of Cinema and Media StudiesThis collection provides expert annotated bibliographies across an array of subfields: film history, television studies, media studies, critical theory, visual arts, cultural studies, digital culture, game studies, popular culture, and the study of the moving image
The Routledge Companion to Cinema and Gender by Call Number: PN1995.9.S47ISBN: 1317408039Publication Date: 2016-11-10Comprised of 43 innovative contributions, the Routledge Companion to Cinema and Gender companion is both an overview of, and intervention into the field of cinema and gender. The essays included here address a variety of geographical contexts.. A special focus is on women directors in a global context that includes films and filmmakers from Asia, Africa, Australia, Europe, North and South America.
- Schirmer Encyclopedia of FilmIntroduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history.
The Routledge Companion to World Cinema by ISBN: 1317420594Publication Date: 2017-09-27The Routledge Companion to World Cinema explores a global range of films and filmmakers, their movements and audiences, comparing their cultural, technological and political dynamics. Its forty chapters offer both a survey and an investigation into the condition and activity of contemporary filmmaking worldwide, often challenging long-standing categorie..
Print Reference Works
Print reference books related to the study of Film Studies are on the ground floor of King, the in IMC.
Here are a couple of basic titles that you might find helpful:
Cinema Studies: The Key Concepts by Susan Hayward. PN1993.45 .H36 2000
Cinema: Year by Year, 1894-2003 ed. by Robyn Karney. PN1993.5.A1 C566 2003
Dictionary of Film Finance and Distribution: A Guide for Independent Filmmakers by John W. Cones. PN1993.5.A1 C642 2008
Fifty Contemporary Filmmakers ed. by Yvonne Tasker. PN1998.2 .F53 2002
Multicultural Films: A Reference Guide by Janice R. Welsch and J.Q. Adams. PN1995.9.M56 W45 2005
The New Biographical Dictionary of Film by David Thomson. PN1998.2 .T49 2004
The Rough Guide to Film by Richard Armstrong. PN1998.2 .R66 2007