Film: Media Collections

The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 160,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible through the database and electronic archival systems developed and maintained by the C-SPAN Archives.

For over a decade, CNN (Cable News Network) has been providing transcripts of shows, events and newscasts from its broadcasts. The archive has been maintained and the text transcripts have been dependably available at transcripts.cnn.com. This is a just-in-case grab of the years of transcripts for later study and historical research.

More than 200,000 free digital films uploaded by archive users. Includes animation and cartoons, cultural and academic films, ephemeral films, news and public affairs, full-length movies, and more.

The LOC's holdings are vast. Review contemporary and archival print, multimedia, and physical collections (and more) in one fell swoop.

Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.

The Newsreel Archive is a collection of complete newsreels and newsreel excerpts from the heyday of the theatrical newsreel in the 1930’s, 1940’s and 1950’s. If you’d like to see more of this collection, take a look at our Youtube Channel.

From NYPL: "Did you know that more than 180,000 of the items in our Digital Collections are in the public domain?
That means everyone has the freedom to enjoy and reuse these materials in almost limitless ways. The Library now makes it possible to download such items in the highest resolution available directly from the Digital Collections website. Go forth and reuse!"

Project Arclight is building a web-based tool that enables the study of 20th century American media through comparisons across time and space.

Rick Ludwin, Executive Vice President for Late-night and Primetime Series, NBC Entertainment and Miami University alumnus. Media: Magnetic media, magazines, news articles, program scripts, camera-ready advertising artwork, promotional materials, newsletters, correspondence and realia.

from UCLA: "The Archive is a part of the UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television, a premier interdisciplinary global professional school that develops oustanding humanistic storytellers, industry leaders and scholars, whose diverse, innovative voices enlighten, engage and inspire change for a better world."

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences; also known as simply the Academy (and known for sponsoring the Academy Awards), is a professional honorary organization in Beverly Hills, California, U.S., with the goal of advancing the arts and sciences of motion pictures.

Historic PSA announcements. Including Smoky the Bear and Keep America Beautiful.

AdViews is a digital archive of thousands of vintage television commercials dating from the 1950s to the 1980s. These commercials were created or collected by the ad agency Benton & Bowles or its successor, D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B). Founded in 1929, Benton & Bowles was a New York advertising agency that merged with D'Arcy Masius McManus in 1985 to form DMB&B. Major clients included are Procter & Gamble, Kraft, Schick, Vicks, and Post, among others

The American Film Institute is a nonprofit organization dedicated to celebrating excellence in film. Their website includes links to video of actors and film-related content.

You can view and buy films and still photographs from the entire archive of 90,000 videos covering newsreel, sports footage, social history documentaries, entertainment and music stories from 1896 to 1976.

The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 160,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible through the database and electronic archival systems developed and maintained by the C-SPAN Archives.

For over a decade, CNN (Cable News Network) has been providing transcripts of shows, events and newscasts from its broadcasts. The archive has been maintained and the text transcripts have been dependably available at transcripts.cnn.com. This is a just-in-case grab of the years of transcripts for later study and historical research.

Over 2,800 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.

Encyclo is an encyclopedia of the future of news, produced by the Nieman Journalism Lab at Harvard University.

The Test Collection at ETS is a database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices most of which were created by authors outside ETS. It makes information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students and teachers. With information about tests from the early 1900s to the present, the Test Collection at ETS is the largest compilation in the world.

The EFG Portal gives you quick and easy access to hundreds of thousands of film historical documents as preserved in European film archives and cinémathèques: photos, posters, programmes, periodicals, censorship documents, rare feature and documentary films, newsreels and other materials. Targeted at scientific researchers and the interested public alike, the EFG offers a look at and behind the scenes of filmmaking in Europe from the early days until today.

The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) is an independent United States government agency. The FCC was established by the Communications Act of 1934 and is charged with regulating interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite and cable. The FCC's jurisdiction covers the 50 states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. possessions.

Filmsite.org is an award-winning website for classic film buffs, students, moviegoers and anyone else interested in the great movies of the last century. Detailed plot synopses, review commentary and film reference material are just some of the features available on the site. The site also contains film analysis, original content, information on the top films and most memorable movie scenes, "best of…" articles, and the most popular film quotes in all genres of film.

Gifts of Speech is a non-profit project, sponsored by Sweet Briar College, dedicated to preserving and creating access to speeches by inspirational, influential and contemporary, women from around the world.

from the website: "...a blog about the sh*t people never discuss in the independent film industry. This is a place to share the TRUTH about experiences from development to distribution. It's fun to brag about our successes, but there is also a lot to learn from our mistakes. I will share horror stories ranging from alcoholic line producers to investors that end up behind bars - some have happy endings, and others don't, but there is always a lesson."

IAMCR is the worldwide professional organisation in the field of media and communication research. Its members promote global inclusiveness and excellence within the best traditions of critical research in the field.

The Media History Digital Library digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. The project is supported by owners of materials who loan them for scanning, and donors who contribute funds to cover the cost of scanning.

The Columbia Journalism Review maintains this database. It's a searchable, living, and ongoing documentation of digital news outlets across the country. Featuring originally reported profiles and extensive data sets on each outlet, the NFDB is a tool for those who study or pursue online journalism, a window into that world for the uninitiated, and, like any journalistic product, a means by which to shed light on an important topic.

a nonprofit organization representing nearly 2,000 newspapers and their multiplatform businesses in the U.S. and Canada. NAA members include daily newspapers, as well as non-dailies, other print publications and on-line products. Headquartered near Washington, D.C., in Arlington, Va., the Association focuses on the major issues that affect today’s newspaper industry: public policy/legal matters, advertising revenue growth and audience development across the medium’s broad portfolio of products.

Drawing upon its curators, collection, and relationships with the media community, The Paley Center for Media examines the intersections between media and society.

Casting data, including employment by production type, tv/theatrical roles, performers with disabilities, etc.

The leading scholarly organization in the United States dedicated to promoting a broad understanding of film, television, and related media through research and teaching grounded in the contemporary humanities tradition.

Vintage ads are shown here in fair use context. Every gallery's images are © by their original company or artist. This site does not endorse any advertisement.