The classic catalog interface searches the materials owned by the Miami University Libraries, including books, DVDs, and other items. Unlike the default catalog interface, the classic catalog provides a "Limit results to" pull-down menu that will enable you to search the Miami library catalog for videos only.
Independent and mainstream. International and domestic. Feature films and documentaries. Streaming 24/7
Kanopy is a streaming video platform with more than 8,000 films from a variety of important collections and producers, including the California Newsreel, Green Planet, PBS, BBC Active, and Stanford Executive Briefings collections.
Alexander Street Video is a platform from which all of our subscribed video collections from Alexander Street Press can be cross-searched simultaneously. This includes access to Academic Video Online and provides access to more than 62,000 titles, spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
The collection includes more than 8,000 cataloged films and video recordings from the early twentieth century through the present day. More than 900 titles date from before 1950. While most of the films are in English, there are important titles in German, Russian, French, and Spanish.
The Historical Audiovisuals (HAV) program collects, preserves, and makes available to researchers and the public moving images and sound which document the history of medicine, biomedical research, health, and disease.
The collection includes instructional, public health, commercial, military, documentary, and research films and is strong in the following subjects:
Cancer research and treatment
Mental health (See our Guide to Mental Health Motion Pictures)
U.S. Public Health Service titles
The New World Cinema collection includes approximately 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and Global Lens. There are also some 50 award winning short films. All films were presented at major film festivals, many were nominated for awards, and many have won major awards.
This collection includes approximately 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and Global Lens. There are also some 50 award winning short films. All films were presented at major film festivals, many were nominated for awards, and many have won major awards. Films include the Oscar-nominated Twilight Samurai, directed by Yoji Yamada, Oscar-nominated The Scent of Green Papaya, directed by Tran Anh Hung, Oscar-nominated Dogtooth, directed by Yorgos Lanthimos, and Cannes Grand Jury Prize winner The Piano Teacher, directed by Michael Haneke. Collectively the films in the database have won more than 1,000 awards.
Includes 1,000 plus videos from Films for the Humanities and Social Sciences
Formerly called the Digital Media Center (DMC). Â An OhioLINK product, the Digital Resource Commons (DRC) provides widespread access to images, sounds, video, numeric data, and other types of media information for the community and the world. Contents are supplied by members of the OhioLINK community. Currents collections include: Foreign Language Database, Encyclopedia of Physics, Social Sciences Database, Historic and Archival Materials, Sandborn fire insurance maps, Art and Architecture Database, Landsat 7 satellite images.
Contains 823 scripts by 969 writers. When it is complete there will be 1000 scripts. Most of them have never been published before and appear through arrangements with major film studios.
Alexander Street Press
A work in progress, this edition of American Film Scripts Online contains 776 scripts by 856 writers together with detailed information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts. Users can search by subject (topics, events, places) as well as by character name, writer, film title, and people (actors, director, producers) When complete, the collection will include more than 1,000 scripts and over 100,000 scenes of life as portrayed in the movies.
Links to hundreds of free, downloadable scripts, movie scripts, screenplays, and transcripts of current, classic and maybe a few soon-to-be-released movies, television, anime, unproduced and radio shows. A screenwriter's resource. See below for what is new on the site or click on a script category!
Digital Resource Commons
Miami subscribes to the OhioLINK Digital Resources Commons, which provides online access to more than 1,000 videos.