Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Please consider using the resources compiled in this guide to complete major and career path research for your UNV 101 Mini-Inquiry Project. Resources include reliable web sources, articles, video interviews with professionals, books and more.
Become with Lantern
Learn about degrees and career paths and the steps involved in entering specific fields.
Browse major and career profiles.
Short video interviews with professionals. Browse by Industries, Career Titles, College Majors and more.
A useful source for career exploration by the U.S. Department of Labor.
85 videos with professionals answering interview questions about what their job is like. This is an OhioMeansJobs resource.
Career Outlook articles provide data and information on a variety of topics—including occupations and industries, pay and benefits, and more.
Field of Degree
A new resource linking data and information from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics and the U.S. Census Bureau for a variety of academic fields. Click on a field of degree (FOD) link to explore.
In addition to serving as a supplement to your resume and allowing you to connect with classmates, alumni, faculty/staff and industry professionals, LinkedIn also allows you to research companies and employees and stay current with articles on professional development.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Provides overviews of occupations and projections for employment over the next decade, by the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Includes useful career exploration and planning resources.
Free online resource providing information about occupations by the US Department of Labor and Employment and Training Administration.
The Balance Careers
Articles about majors and the careers they prepare students for.
Note: Access provided through CCES. Use your Miami email address to register for an account. Vault provides in-depth intelligence on what it’s really like to work in an industry, company or profession.
What Can I Do With This Major?
Note: Access provided through CCES. Learn about the typical career paths for students with your major and the types of employers that hire graduates with your major, as well as strategies to make you a more marketable candidate by articulating the value of your major.
100 Best Jobs of 2021
Ranking of the 100 Best Jobs for 2021 from U.S. News. Click on each job title for an overview and more.
Vocational and Career Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from 350 trade and industry related periodicals, with 600 additional titles indexed.
You can find more articles using the Articles & More tab on the Miami University Libraries homepage, www.lib.miamioh.edu/. Search using keywords related to your topic(s) of interest, combining keywords with AND or OR. The Articles & More tab allows you to search over 100 of the Libraries' 500+ databases. View and filter the complete list of library databases from Databases A to Z.
You can find more books by using the Books & More tab on the Miami University Libraries homepage, www.lib.miamioh.edu/. Search using keywords related to your topic(s) of interest, combining keywords with AND or OR. Suggested keywords/subjects:
Miami University Resources
Student Success Librarian