Technical Services: Search Box Builder

The EBSCOhost Search Box Builder can be found here:

http://support.epnet.com/eit/sbb.php

Step 1: Set Search Parameters

• In the Interface drop-down menu, choose EBSCO Discovery Service.
• Choose your interface language (defaults to English).
• Choose the Databases radio button.
• Choose the radio button next to the type of search you would like to use (Boolean, All terms, Any terms).
• Choose Limiters (if you would like them; you may also leave all checkboxes empty here).
• Choose Publication Type limiters (if you would like them; you may also leave all checkboxes empty here).
• Choose Keywords to combine with user search box input (if you would like to; you may also leave this box empty).

Step 2: Select Authentication Parameters

• Proxy Prefix:  https://proxy.lib.miamioh.edu/login?url=
• Methods - Check the box that says "IP Address".

Step 3: Choose a Search Box Design

• Click on the size you prefer.

Step 4: Customize the Layout

• Choose a title for your search box (we are calling the search "OneSearch").
• The logo box defaults to the EBSCO Discovery Layer search box.  If you would like the URL to Miami's logos, contact Jennifer Bazeley.
• Adjust Height and Width in pixels to adjust size of search box (if desired).
• Check the boxes next to the limiters and search modes you would like to display (all are checked by default).

Step 5: Confirm Your Search Box

• You can test your search box here.
• Click Create Search Box.

Step 6: Copy Your Search Box Code

• The code that appears in the box can be copied and pasted onto a web page or LibGuide.

<!-- EBSCOhost Custom Search Box Begins -->

<script src="http://supportforms.epnet.com/eit/scripts/ebscohostsearch.js" type="text/javascript"></script>

<form action="" onsubmit="return ebscoHostSearchGo(this);" method="post">

<input id="ebscohostwindow" name="ebscohostwindow" type="hidden" value="1" />

<input id="ebscohosturl" name="ebscohosturl" type="hidden" value="https://proxy.lib.miamioh.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&scope=site&type=0&mode=bool&lang=en&authtype=ip" />

<input id="ebscohostsearchsrc" name="ebscohostsearchsrc" type="hidden" value="db" />

<input id="ebscohostsearchmode" name="ebscohostsearchmode" type="hidden" value="+" />

<input id="ebscohostkeywords" name="ebscohostkeywords" type="hidden" value="" />

<div style="background-Image:url('http://supportforms.epnet.com/eit/images/eds150.gif');background-repeat:no-repeat;width:392px;font-family:Verdana,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif;font-size:9pt;color:#353535;">

<div style="padding-top:5px;padding-left:167px;">

<span style="font-weight:bold;">OneSearch</span>

<div>

<input id="ebscohostsearchtext" name="ebscohostsearchtext" type="text" size="23" style="font-size:9pt;padding-left:5px;margin-left:0px;" />

<input type="submit" value="Search" style="font-size:9pt;padding-left:5px;" />

<div id="guidedFieldSelectors">

<input class="radio" type="radio" name="searchFieldSelector" id="guidedField_0" data_messageid="findfield_default_text" value="" checked="checked"><label class="label" for="guidedField_0"> Keyword</label>

<input class="radio" type="radio" name="searchFieldSelector" id="guidedField_1" data_messageid="findfield_title_text" value="TI"><label class="label" for="guidedField_1"> Title</label>

<input class="radio" type="radio" name="searchFieldSelector" id="guidedField_2" data_messageid="findfield_author_text" value="AU"><label class="label" for="guidedField_2"> Author</label>

</div>

<div id="limiterblock" style="margin-left:-167px">

<div id="limitertitle" style="font-weight:bold;padding-top:25px;padding-bottom:5px;text-align:center">Limit Your Results</div>

<div id="includeFT" style="float:left;margin:0;padding:0;width:50%;">

<input type="checkbox" id="chkFullText" name="chkFullText" style="margin-left:0px;" /><label for="chkFullText">Full Text</label>

</div>

<div id="includePR" style="float:left;margin:0;padding:0;width:50%;">

<input type="checkbox" id="chkPeerReviewed" name="chkPeerReviewed" style="margin-left:0px;" /><label for="chkPeerReviewed">Peer Reviewed</label>

</div>

<div id="includeCO" style="float:left;margin:0;padding:0;width:50%">

<input type="checkbox" id="chkCatalogOnly" name="chkCatalogOnly" /><label for="chkCatalogOnly">Catalog Only</label>

</div>

<div id="includeLC" style="float:left;margin:0;padding:0;width:50%">

<input type="checkbox" id="chkLibraryCollection" name="chkLibraryCollection" /><label for="chkLibraryCollection">Available in Library Collection</label>

</div>

</div>

</div>

</div>

</div>

</form>

<!-- EBSCOhost Custom Search Box Ends -->

<!-- EBSCOhost Custom Search Box Begins -->

<script src="http://supportforms.epnet.com/eit/scripts/ebscohostsearch.js" type="text/javascript"></script>

<form action="" onsubmit="return ebscoHostSearchGo(this);" method="post">

<input id="ebscohostwindow" name="ebscohostwindow" type="hidden" value="1" />

<input id="ebscohosturl" name="ebscohosturl" type="hidden" value="https://proxy.lib.miamioh.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&scope=site&type=0&mode=bool&lang=en&authtype=ip" />

<input id="ebscohostsearchsrc" name="ebscohostsearchsrc" type="hidden" value="db" />

<input id="ebscohostsearchmode" name="ebscohostsearchmode" type="hidden" value="+" />

<input id="ebscohostkeywords" name="ebscohostkeywords" type="hidden" value="" />

<div style="background-Image:url('http://supportforms.epnet.com/eit/images/eds150.gif');background-repeat:no-repeat;width:392px;font-family:Verdana,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif;font-size:9pt;color:#353535;">

<div style="padding-top:5px;padding-left:167px;">

<span style="font-weight:bold;">OneSearch</span>

<div>

<input id="ebscohostsearchtext" name="ebscohostsearchtext" type="text" size="23" style="font-size:9pt;padding-left:5px;margin-left:0px;" />

<input type="submit" value="Search" style="font-size:9pt;padding-left:5px;" />

<div id="guidedFieldSelectors">

<input class="radio" type="radio" name="searchFieldSelector" id="guidedField_0" data_messageid="findfield_default_text" value="" checked="checked"><label class="label" for="guidedField_0"> Keyword</label>

<input class="radio" type="radio" name="searchFieldSelector" id="guidedField_1" data_messageid="findfield_title_text" value="TI"><label class="label" for="guidedField_1"> Title</label>

<input class="radio" type="radio" name="searchFieldSelector" id="guidedField_2" data_messageid="findfield_author_text" value="AU"><label class="label" for="guidedField_2"> Author</label>

</div>

<div id="limiterblock" style="margin-left:-167px">

<div id="limitertitle" style="font-weight:bold;padding-top:25px;padding-bottom:5px;text-align:center">Limit Your Results</div>

<div id="includeFT" style="float:left;margin:0;padding:0;width:50%;">

<input type="checkbox" id="chkFullText" name="chkFullText" style="margin-left:0px;" /><label for="chkFullText">Full Text</label>

</div>

<div id="includePR" style="float:left;margin:0;padding:0;width:50%;">

<input type="checkbox" id="chkPeerReviewed" name="chkPeerReviewed" style="margin-left:0px;" /><label for="chkPeerReviewed">Peer Reviewed</label>

</div>

<div id="includeCO" style="float:left;margin:0;padding:0;width:50%">

<input type="checkbox" id="chkCatalogOnly" name="chkCatalogOnly" /><label for="chkCatalogOnly">Catalog Only</label>

</div>

<div id="includeLC" style="float:left;margin:0;padding:0;width:50%">

<input type="checkbox" id="chkLibraryCollection" name="chkLibraryCollection" /><label for="chkLibraryCollection">Available in Library Collection</label>

</div>

</div>

</div>

</div>

</div>

</form>

<!-- EBSCOhost Custom Search Box Ends -->