Patents: Patents in Journal Articles
Library Resources
In addition to searching for patent documents, you might be needing to include journal articles in your search, which you can find through the library databases.
Depending on what you are looking for, you can search by keyword (for more general and comprehensive searching) or a patent number (for very specific searching).
Below are some good databases to look in.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowIEEE Xplore is a premier database for information in computing engineering, electrical engineering, and electronics. full-text access is available for over 200 journals and 600 conference proceedings, including all IEEE standards. Coverage for all titles is available from 1988, with selected titles from 1913. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowAccess and search Compendex, Geobase, and Knovel databases here. Engineering Village takes engineering research to the next level with a comprehensive database that includes the most authoritative engineering resources available to answer today’s most timely questions—from theoretical to applied, and basic to complex.
- Web of Science (All Databases) This link opens in a new window
NOTE: If prompted, please enter your MU credentials. Do not select “Institutional Sign In.” Clearing web browser cookies and cache may also fix access issues
Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. Databases can be searched together or separate and include: Web of Science Core Collection: Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1975-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present). Web of Science Additional Databases: BIOSIS Citation Index (1926-present), BIOSIS Previews, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index (1900-present), Derwent Innovations Index, KCI - Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Russian Science Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, Zoological Record (1864-present). Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Journals about patents
- World Patent InformationWorld Patent Information aims to encompass the world of IP information; and focus the journal towards IPRs for industrially applicable innovations; and their management, analysis; big data analysis; policy; education. IPRs - patents, utility models; copyright, trademarks, registered design; design rights; trade secrets; database rights; traditional knowledge; indigenous knowledge; geographical indications may all be considered.
