Music: Find Articles/Music Source Materials
Tips
Try limiting your search to a period of years, a language, just peer-reviewed journals, etc. depending on your needs
Article Indexes and Related Sources
- Music Index Online This link opens in a new windowa database with journal articles from the 1960s to the present in all music topics
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new windowan international database from the 1960s to the present on all aspects of music in journals, books, conference reports, etc.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Musiccombines the features of an encyclopedia and a bibliography in a style tailored to meet the needs of today’s researchers. Each article, written and reviewed by top scholars in the field, is rich with citations and annotations, expert recommendations, and narrative pathways for virtually all areas of music.
- IPA Source This link opens in a new windowphonetic transcriptions of songs and arias by many composers
- Musical Theater SongsFind songs by voice type, age of character in a show, tempo, or by composer/lyricist
- Musical America.Com This link opens in a new windowall aspects of the music trade; updated every Friday
- Doctoral Dissertations in MusicologyInternational database of citations to dissertations in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related disciplines.
- Music Article GuideA useful retrospective print resource for finding articles about music education from primary grades to the university, 1969-1996