chat loading...

Liberal Studies (Regionals): Articles

Miami University Libraries Search - reaching a wider variety of publications

Start searching for articles here (searches multiple databases at once).
Use limiters to narrow your results - peer-reviewed, subject, date, etc.
Use the "Citation" option below the citation when you click on it to create an APA or MLA citation.
To share this article, click and copy the Permalink option option below the citation when you click on it (not the browser URL).

Watch this short video on how to search for articles in Miami University Libraries Search (4:31 minutes; John Burke, 2025).

Need a Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Journal Article? Who writes them? Why? Where do you find one?

Peer Review in 3 Minutes (NCSU Libraries)
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article (NCSU Libraries)

Subject-specific Databases for Liberal Arts

Academic Search Complete
A broad index to periodicals, Academic Search Complete covers most academic areas of study, including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

Academic Search Complete provides abstracts for more than 9,300 scholarly and popular periodicals, with full-text for more than 5,300 of these.
America: History and Life
Index with abstracts and full-text of journal articles, book reviews, media reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of American and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. See Historical Abstracts for world history.

Sources in AHL are almost all in English and include state and local history journals as well as major history journals. Search the index by keyword and limit the search by desired time-period covered in the article. For additional help in searching use the link in AHL.
Business Source Complete
Indexes and abstracts a number of scholarly business journals, the majority of which are available in full-text. Also includes company, industry, and country reports covering both domestic and international. Covers the subject areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and marketing.

It also includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports and detailed company profiles for thousands of the world's largest companies. Includes some ahead of print content.
Gale Literature Resource Center

Designed for undergraduate students, this contains information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more, drawn from these sources: Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism (starting with vol. 95), and Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature. In addition it provides selected full-text, excerpted critical materials, articles from 260 literary journals, and links to selected websites.
PsycINFO (EBSCOhost)
PsycInfo is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.

Subject include: psychology, speech pathology and audiology, nursing, gerontology, social work, American studies, educational psychology, educational leadership, disability studies.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Index, abstracts, and full-text covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Essential and authoritative database for sociology and related fields.

This index contains more than 1,900,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociology-specific thesaurus. This database also contains abstracts for more than 815 core coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, the database provides data mined from more than 630 priority coverage journals as well as 2,840 selective coverage journals. This index replaces Sociological Abstracts.
Web of Science (Core Collection)

NOTE: If prompted, please enter your MU credentials. Do not select “Institutional Sign In.” Clearing web browser cookies and cache may also fix access issues.
Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. The Web of Science Core Collection includes the following databases: Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present). Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.

Search Tip: Use the Find It! Button

When you search a database for a "Full Text" item, you are only searching that 1 database for the complete article. It may exist as "Full Text" in another location: different database, publisher website, or institutional repository.

If you don't find an item as full-text in 1 database, click the "Find It" button to cross-search it in other library locations.

Scholarly Journal or Popular Periodical?

Anatomy of a Scholary Article by NCSU Libraries

Peer Review in 3 Minutes by NCSU Libraries

Scholarly journals contain peer-reviewed articles which report original research and provide in-depth analysis. The language is technical. Graphs, tables, and references are included. They are written by professors, researchers, and scholars.

Popular periodicals cover current topics, are written in everyday language, include color images, and rarely cite sources. They are written by journalists.

Last Updated: Dec 3, 2025 10:40 AM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/liberal
Print Page

Subjects: Liberal Studies