In addition to access to articles from thousands of newspapers through newspaper databases (see the "Newspaper Databases" section, below), students, faculty, and staff at Miami have subscriber access to The New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.
Go to the WSJ registration page at https://partner.wsj.com/partner/miamiuniversity.
Enter first and last name
Select an Account Type from the dropdown: Student, Professor, or Staff
Enter your email address and create a password. The email address and password will allow access on other devices outside of the university network.
Click Create to complete registration and create your WSJ subscription.
Once you have an account you can go directly to: https://www.wsj.com/
Notes: Student accounts stay active until graduation date. Faculty and staff will be prompted to validate their memberships once a year with an email notification and a banner on the WSJ home page. If a user already has a personal WSJ subscription, it cannot be integrated into the university site license. Users with personal subscriptions should choose a different email address to register with via the university license or cancel their personal subscription before registering through the university license.
Previously called LexisNexis Academic, Lexis Uni provides full-text access to articles from thousands of newspapers and legal sources.
Previously called LexisNexis Academic. Nexis Uni is an outstanding source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.
If single sign on fails use this url:
Provides cover-to-cover full text for 25 national and international newspapers, selected articles from over 260 regional U.S. papers, and some television and radio news transcripts, in addition to indexing for a far larger number of papers.
Communication & Mass Media Complete offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals in areas related to communication and mass media, and selected coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles.
Furthermore, this database includes full-text for nearly 200 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915).
The AP Stylebook is the standard handbook for grammar and usage for North American English-language journalism. Limited to 25 users at one time.
The online style and usage guide used by newspapers and the news industry in general. Reporters, editors and others use the AP Stylebook as a guide for grammar, punctuation and principles and practices of reporting.
More than 200 expert-produced annotated bibliographies, with a focus on communication issues. Includes bibliographies on social, technological, and ethical questions related to communication, media studies, and journalism. The focus of most bibliographies is on key scholarly and academic sources.
OneSource is a comprehensive business database, providing US and international company and industry information. This source includes company financial data and corporate family trees, information on competitors, SWOT analyses, and analysts reports.