Instructional Materials Center (IMC): Lesson Planning Resources
Resources for Teaching PreK-12
Lesson Planning Resources
-
American Association of School Librarians Best WebsitesThe Best Websites for Teaching & Learning foster the qualities of innovation, creativity, active participation, and collaboration. Sites recognized are free web-based sites that are user friendly and encourage a community of learners to explore and discover.
-
Kathy Shrock's Guide to EverythingComprehensive guide to instructional strategies with a focus on educational technology. Includes classroom ideas, rationales, links to resources, and how-tos.
-
Learner.org (Annenberg Foundation)Teacher resources and lesson plans on a wide range of topics arranged by grade level. Resources include video-on-demand (VoD).
-
National Geographic EducationFind classroom materials from National Geographic including readings, activities, map resources, videos, and games.
-
Ohio Career Connections Lessons and Activities"Find hundreds of lessons and activities to make career connections within academic subject areas. The activities on this page were developed by Ohio educators and can be viewed by subject, grade level and topic, such as OhioMeansJobs K-12."
-
PBS TeacherResources organized by grade level deal with environmentalism, civics and government, health, math, and most subject areas.
-
RubistarRubiStar is a free tool to help teachers create quality rubrics for project-based learning activities.
-
Share My LessonLesson plans submitted by teachers. Search by grade, subject, standards alignment, and more. Hosted by the American Federation of Teachers.
-
Smithsonian Learning LabResources for educators and students based on the rich collections of the Smithsonian Institution. Search for lesson plans by keyword or discipline. Many resources are aligned with national, common core, and state standards.
-
TeachersFirst IcebreakersA list of reviewed resources that offer a chance for teachers and students to get to know one another.
- CK-12Open Educational Resources in math and science. Contains free online textbooks that can be fully customized for your class. For grades K-12.
- GeoGebraFree online math apps and classroom resources including activities, simulations, exercises, lessons, and games. For grades K-12 and college.
- NFTI ScienceNon-fiction texts in science instruction for grades K-4 aligned to Ohio standards. Includes detailed lesson plans.
- PhET Interactive SimulationsFree interactive math and science simulations with teacher-contributed activities.
- Science Journals for Kids and TeensPeer-reviewed science articles adapted for K-12. Includes lesson resources and alignment with standards.
- Math for Love - Rich TasksNon-routine, rich math problems
- Engaging Mathematical TasksMathematics Tasks to Engage Students
- AdLitAll about adolescent literacy. Includes book lists and classroom strategies for grades 4-12.
- Balanced Literacy DietResearch-based best practices for teaching literacy with classroom strategies and videos with real-world examples.
- Reading RocketsReading strategies and book lists for children 0-12 years old.
- ReadWorksLeveled reading passages for all subject areas and grades.
- ReadWriteThinkInternational Literacy Association and the National Council of Teachers of English provide literacy-related classroom resources, including lesson plans, interactives, apps, and printouts.
- ReWordifyOnline tool that simplifies reading passages.
- EdSitement
- Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
- iCivics
- Library of Congress Teacher Resources
- Mr. Roughton / Teach With Magic
- My Case Maker
- National Archives Educator Resources
- National Underground Railroad Freedom Center
- Online learning resources including exhibits, activities, lesson plans, videos and more.
- NewseumED
- Spartacus-Educational
- Focus on British and European history. Longstanding free online history material.
- Teaching History
- Teachinghistory.org is designed to help K–12 history teachers access resources and materials to improve U.S. history education in the classroom.
- Telling Our Story: The Living History of the Myaamia
- Provides teachers with a curriculum for teaching Myaamia (Miami Tribe) history to grades 3-12.
- Yale Law School - Avalon Project
- Documents in law, history, and diplomacy
- Collaborative for Academic, Social, and Emotional Learning (CASEL)Our mission is to help make evidence-based social and emotional learning an integral part of education from preschool through high school.
- Facing History and OurselvesFacing History’s resources address racism, antisemitism, and prejudice at pivotal moments in history; we help students connect choices made in the past to those they will confront in their own lives.
- Learning for JusticeFormerly called Teaching Tolerance. Originally created to prevent the growth of hate by reducing prejudice. In the last 30 years, our work has evolved to center justice and the action that students and educators can take to realize change.
- Multicultural PavilionIncludes a list of awareness activities and a multicultural song index to help teachers initiate multicultural discussions in their classrooms.
- Resources from the Equity Literacy InstituteGreat list of links to other resources.
- Teachable Moments"A national leader in the field of social and emotional learning (SEL), Morningside Center has developed a range of research-based programs that improve students' social and emotional intelligence—and their academic performance."
