Instructional Materials Center (IMC): Home

The Instructional Materials Center (IMC) on the ground floor of King Library holds a wide range of collections including juvenile literature, preK-12 curriculum materials, lesson plans, games, foreign language materials, English Language Learner materials, and K-12 textbooks. The IMC has about 19,000 children's books in total, plus all of our other materials!

The IMC floor space also houses the Libraries' video collection and microform reader. Please contact your subject librarian if you have questions about videos or using microforms. The ground floor also holds other collection materials such as government documents, the reference and music collections, and print periodicals.

IMC & Ground Floor Collection Hours

The IMC and other collections (with the exception of videos) are open and available whenever King Library is open (see hours here). A staff member is usually available to help on the ground floor between 8am-8pm. Outside of those times, you may seek assistance from the circulation desk on the 1st floor. 

Use the box above to search for materials only in the IMC.

This will work best if you search by title. Unfortunately, searching for phrases like "YA novels" or "picture books" will not return great results. Make sure that you make note of the Library Shelves Location of the item you are looking for, which are described below. 

The IMC collection is divided into several parts and grouped together into different Library Shelves Locations:

• Juv Easy picture books for children in grades PK-3
• Easy Readers - leveled readers for children learning to read
• Juvenile Fiction/Non-Fiction includes non-fiction books for children of all ages and fiction books for children in grades 4-12
• ELL - books for English Language Learners. Also includes High/Low books for emerging teen readers.
• Language Materials - books for teaching foreign languages
• Big Books - oversized books for grades PK-3, perfect for reading-aloud to large groups
• Curr Mat - curriculum materials like math manipulatives, games, puppets, science kits, etc. 
• Textbooks - K-12 textbooks and teacher editions
• Books - books with lesson plans, worksheets, and classroom activities
• Reference - reference material on children's literature and teaching resources

The location and call number in the record will end up looking similar to: King Library, Ground Floor, IMC, Juvenile ; PZ7.D5455 Be 2009

When you look for the book on the shelf it will read: Juv PZ7.D5455 Be 2009

Kids and YA ebooks - through the Ohio Digital Library. Available with an Ohio Public Library card. Need a card? Use your local Oxford address to get one from the Lane Public Library here. 

Comics and Graphic Novels online - free from the State Library of Ohio. 

K-12 Online Textbooks - links to free online textbooks for ELA, math, science, and social studies.