IACUC Literature Searches: Reporting your results

Non-Duplication

Section C of the protocol application asks: "Does the study duplicate other work? If yes, please cite studies, and explain the need for duplication. This section is required for research protocols."

What to include in Section C

• Names of the databases used
  • Reminder: you need two databases for this search
  • GoogleScholar is not an acceptable database
• Date the search was run
• Keywords and an overview the search strategy used
• A narrative of what you discovered in your search - please do not use this section to simply show the search strings, you need to provide a discussion of the results

What to include in Section VII - Supporting Documentation

• The full Search Strategies that includes
  • Again, the name of the database and the date the search was run
  • Screenshots of search histories for each database used
    • Preferably with a date stamp (usually from the clock on the screen)
  • Search strings, as text, not just in the screenshots as the screenshots are sometimes blurry

Alternatives

Section D of the protocol application "Please address the use of alternative models, the avaliablity of refinements in techniques, and sample size requirements below. This section is required for research and teaching protocols. ... It is the investigator's responsibility to seek and evaluate alternatives and refinements that will reduce the number of animals used, reduce pain and distress in research animals, or enhance the well-being of research animals."

What to include in Section D

• Names of the databases used
  • Reminder : you need two databases for this search, and one has to be AGRICOLA
  • GoogleScholar is not an acceptable database
• Date the search was run
• keywords and overview of of the search strategy used
• A narrative of what you discovered in your search - please do not use this section to simply show the search strings, you need to provide a discussion of the results and how the methods or other aspects of the protocol were shaped by the findings

What to include in Section VII - Supporting Documentation

• The full Search Strategies that includes
  • Again, the name of the database and the date the search was run
  • Screenshots of search histories for each database used
    • Preferably with a date stamp (usually from the clock on the screen)
  • Search strings, as text, not just in the screenshots as the screenshots are sometimes blurry

Time Stamps

It's important to include when the search was performed. This is because new literature is being produced constantly, and at different stages of the research project it might be necessary to re-run the searches - if for example there is a modification or a renewal - the IACUC needs to be able to determine if your searches are still relevant or they should be re done for the most up to date results.

Therefore, when capturing screenshots, please include the date from the clock on screen. At a minimum the date need to be included in the written portion of the Search Strategies section of the Supporting Documentation - for each database searched - they needn't be all on the same day.

Capturing Search Histories

It is not necessary to include a screen shot for every search performed. However the IACUC does need to see which searches were done. A more concise way to do this is with a screen shot of the search history.

Example from PubMed

After doing your searches, click on Advanced under the search box. See screen shot below.

Once you click Advanced, you can not only do an advanced search, but this is where you'll find the History and Search Details. Providing a screen shot of this page, is the most concise way to share provide evidence that you did all the searches you said you did. See screen shot below.

Example from Web of Science

Please note that Web of Science is an interface for many databases, it is not itself a database. However the instructions here are relevant to any database accessed via Web of Science.

After doing your searches, click on Advanced Search in the upper left of the screen. See screen shot below.

Once you click Advanced Search, you can not only do an advanced search, but this is where you'll find the Session Queries. Providing a screen shot of this page, is the most concise way to share provide evidence that you did all the searches you said you did. See screen shot below.

Example from EBSCO

Please note that EBSCO is an interface for many databases, it is not itself a database. However the instructions here are relevant to any database accessed via EBSCO.

After doing your searches, click on Search History under the search boxes. See screen shot below.

Once you click Search History, you can not only do an advanced search, but this is where you'll find a summary of what you searched for. Providing a screen shot of this page, is the most concise way to share provide evidence that you did all the searches you said you did. See screen shot below.