chat loading...

BIO 314 Spring 2021 eLibrarian

PLANT AND FUNGAL DIVERSITY

Pick a human, animal, or plant pathogen or a beneficial fungi such mycorrhizae (baking/brewing).
There are many to choose among so do some background research before making your final choice.
Write a single research question.
Research, read, and synthesize information from a variety of source types to answer that question.
Gardner-Harvey Library Website

Libraries @ Miami University Regionals

Articles & More - Search 80 databases at once & get 1 results list. You may limit to scholarly/peer-reviewed articles.

Books & More - To view or download an eBook, Click the link "Connect to... in the catalog record. Request print books or DVDs from any Miami library or OhioLINK.

SUBJECT TERMS:

FUNGI
FUNG*
FUNGI -- ECOLOGY
FUNGI -- INDUSTRIAL APPLICATIONS
FUNGI -- NORTH AMERICA
SOIL FUNGI
MYCORRHIZAL FUNGI
PATHOGENS
PATHOGENIC FUNGI
PHYTOPATHOGENIC FUNGI
PLANTS
MOLDS (FUNGI)
PLANT-FUNGUS RELATIONSHIP
YEAST FUNGI
SYMBIOSIS
FUNGAL DISEASES OF PLANTS
ANTIFUNGAL AGENTS
FUNGAL ANATOMY

Search specific disease name for people, plants, or animals
Examples: athlete's foot, human nail fungus, ring worm, yeast infection... Dutch elm disease, chestnut blight, fungal disease of grapes

Biology - Miami Subject Guide

Develop Your Topic

Library Databases for Biology / Botany / Healthcare

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window Agricola is the index of the National Agriculture Library. Agricola can also be useful for searches relating to animals, plant science, fisheries, ecology, nutrition, environmental sciences, and veterinary science.
Subjects include: animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, and extension and education.
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window This database provides the most comprehensive coverage in the life sciences, including journal articles, meeting abstracts, and books., in such areas as agriculture, biochemistry, ecology, medicine, neuroscience, and physiology. Coverage: 1969 - present. Part of the Web of Knowledge site. Also known as Biological Abstracts.
Biological & Agricultural Index Plus This link opens in a new window The database covers agricultural research, biology, environmental science, genetics, horticulture, physiology, veterinary medicine, wildlife management. It includes full text articles, citations, and podcasts.
Subjects include: agricultural research, biology, environmental, science, genetics, horticulture, physiology, veterinary medicine, and wildlife management.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window The database covers environmental aspects of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning.
Subjects include: agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, and environmental technology. This is also a useful database for searching for "architecture sustainability" and "design sustainability".
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect provides access to more than 18 million articles and book chapters from over 1,750 active journals and 39,000 books to help users discover more novel science, use their time efficiently, and make decisions with the highest-quality scientific information. Content covers physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window This is an interdisciplinary database. The key feature of Web of Science is citation tracking. It allows you to look up a given article and find other papers which have cited it. Coverage: 1965-present. Web of Science is part of the Web of Knowledge site, which allows simultaneous searching of BIOSIS, MEDLINE, and Web of Science.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window This is a general-purpose database and covers most topics, including "popular science" magazine or newspaper articles.
Academic Search Complete provides abstracts for more than 9,300 scholarly and popular periodicals, with full-text for more than 5,300 of these.
Health Source - Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Search the database for nursing and allied health scholarly, scientific articles.
, including full text from Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more. In addition, this database includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Find excellent nursing and allied health articles, including evidence-based content and systematic reviews.
Covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed is a free database by the National Library of Medicine. Searching Miami libraries' PubMed interface links to full articles, when available. Coverage: 1950 - present.
MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from biomedical journals published in the United States and other countries. The database contains citations dating back to the mid-1950's. Journal articles are indexed for MEDLINE using NLM's subject heading system, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).

Opposing Viewpoints in Context Find many source types, representing multiple viewpoints, on controversial Issues in the news.

Websites for Biology / Botany

USA.gov This is the official portal to U.S. government websites, agencies, documents, and reports.
Google Scholar Find scholarly articles, book chapters, conference papers, dissertations, etc. Use the Find It @MIAMIOH link to see the full-text.