It combines biographies from multiple Gale reference publications, such as Contemporary Authors, Encyclopedia of World Biography, Dictionary of American Biography, and Directory of American Scholars, with articles from more than 300 magazines, such as American History, The Christian Century, and U.S. News & World Report.
Culture, History, & Politics - Background Research
A streaming video platform with films from a variety of collections and producers, including the California Newsreel, Green Planet, PBS, BBC Active, and Stanford Executive Briefings collections. Search titles available for request and for titles currently licensed by the Libraries. Check the library catalog for licensed films' expiration dates.
As of July 1 2019, the University Libraries lease content from Kanopy on an item-by-item basis. Requests for the Libraries to lease an item can be made on the Kanopy web site or to your subject selector. Because of the costs and limited duration of Kanopy rental agreements, we prioritize content needed by faculty and students for coursework and research purposes. Requests may take several working days to process; please plan accordingly. More information about Kanopy and streaming video at Miami.
Concise introductions to a diverse range of subject areas from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Economics to Literary Theory, offering a bridge between reference content and higher academic work. All titles provide introductions to a huge range of subjects written by experts in the field.
Since the series was launched it has continued to offer new books each year for students and scholars, and the avidly curious, offering a bridge between reference content and higher academic work. All titles provide introductions to a huge range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, and new ideas, to make challenging topics highly readable.
Encyclopedias written by world-class experts to provide subject overviews that can be understood in half an hour of reading or less.
Every essay is rigorously peer-reviewed and new topics and essays are added monthly. The OREs were developed with a global community of librarians and university faculty and written for everyone from students just beginning their studies to more advanced researchers needing background on a field of study.
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides the basis to realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills. Points of View Reference Center contains many topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
For each topic, there is a Guide to Critical Analysis, which helps the reader evaluate the controversial topics. Points of View Reference Center includes over 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. The database also offers guides for writing position papers, developing arguments and debating.
Modern Language Association (MLA) 8th Edition - Citing Sources