Essential and authoritative database for education research. An index from the US Department of Education that has been around since 1964 ,with some full-text access.
Includes journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers. There is a free version that anyone can use at eric.ed.gov. Use the library version because you will be able to access the full-text of the articles you find more easily. Currently indexes more than 600 journals.
In addition, contributors have given ERIC permission to display more than 115,000 full-text materials in PDF format. These materials are generally part of the recent grey literature such as conference papers and reports, rather than journal articles and books. Older ERIC documents that are not free on the web are available on microfiche, but must be recalled from storage.
Provides resources on all levels of education, including higher education and includes more professional and trade publications than indexed elsewhere.
Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for over 1,500 journals, and full-text for more than 750 of them. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. It also has the full-text for over 100 monographs and numerous education-related conference papers.
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides the basis to realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills. Points of View Reference Center contains many topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
For each topic, there is a Guide to Critical Analysis, which helps the reader evaluate the controversial topics. Points of View Reference Center includes over 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. The database also offers guides for writing position papers, developing arguments and debating.
