Economics: Find Journal Articles

Article Databases

EconLit
Best Bet*

Scholarly journal and book sources covering economic development, forecasting, history, fiscal theory, finance, international, regional, and urban economics.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete indexes thousands of popular and scholarly business journals, many of which are available in full-text.
more...less...
Business Source Complete indexes and abstracts 4,450 scholarly business journals, of which over 3,600 are available in full-text. This database covers the subject areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and marketing. It also includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports and detailed company profiles for 10,000 of the world's largest companies through Datamonitor
JSTOR
Full-text scholarly database that covers many areas, including literature and history. Articles are usually 5+ years old.
Social Science Citation Index
The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) indexes citations appearing in articles and reviews in leading international social science journals. This database is probably the most useful for advanced researchers compiling bibliographies and looking for where works have been cited.
National Bureau of Economic Research Working Papers
This database has a wealth of working papers in the field of economics. (open access after 18 months)

Repositories

IDEAS/RePec
Best Bet*

IDEAS is the largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet. Based on RePEc, it indexes over 2,700,000 items of research, including over 2,500,000 that can be downloaded in full text.
AgEcon
collects, indexes, and electronically distributes full text copies of scholarly research in the broadly defined field of agricultural and applied economics. Includes working papers, journal articles, government documents, theses and dissertations.
Arxiv-Economics
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,857,649 scholarly articles in many fields including economics.
EconPapers
This site allows access to REPEC which has a large amount of working papers, books, and journal articles on the subject of economics.
EconStor
Open access European repository of economic and business articles. It is one of the largest repositories in the econ field.
EconBiz

Search Tip: Use the Right Resource

Use EconLit to locate articles on a topic when you are beginning your research. It is a great resources to start with and includes scholarly journal articles, book chapters, dissertation abstracts, etc.

Use E-Journal Finder to locate an article in a specific journal, or to find an article for which you already have a citation.

Top Economic Journals:

American Economic Review - American Economic Association's flagship journal, first published in 1911
Econometrica - Publishes original articles in all branches of economics
Economic Journal - Flagship journal of the Royal Economic Society
Journal of Economic Literature - First published in 1969, is designed to help economists keep abreast of the vast flow of literature
Journal of Economic Theory - ET is the leading journal among those specializing in economic theory
Journal of Monetary Economics - Publishes important research contributions to a wide range of modern macroeconomic topics
Journal of Political Economy - Since 1892 presented significant research and scholarship in economic theory and practice
Quarterly Journal of Economics - QJE is the oldest professional journal of economics in the English language
Review of Economics and Statistics - 97-year-old general journal of applied (especially quantitative) economics
Review of Economic Studies - Founded in 1933 by a group of young British and American Economists

Last Updated: Jun 20, 2024 11:27 AM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/econ
Print Page

Subjects: Economics

Tags: eco, econ, economics