Project Dragonfly: Journal Articles

Important Update

The new PubMed is here.

PubMed has officially implemented its new interface. This is a change that has been in the works for a while; an FAQ about the transition is available and may answer many questions you have. The National Library of Medicine has also created some helpful quick tours and other documentation to help you learn to navigate the new interface. Don't hesitate to reach out to me with questions.

Article Databases

The following list contains multiple resources for finding journal articles on environmental topics. One of these databases may fit you best, or you may need to search multiple databases for the best results.

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
A good place to start for general articles, magazines, and newspaper articles on environmental issues (1975-today). Offers deep coverage in environmental aspects of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning. Primary coverage is from 1975-present, with limited coverage from 1960.
Subjects include: agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, and environmental technology. This is also a useful database for searching for "architecture sustainability" and "design sustainability".
Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
Includes coverage of the environmental aspects of multiple disciplines (1901 to today). You can also find out who has cited previous articles. Covers more than 5,900 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines. Web of Science provides access to cited references from indexed articles, linking older articles to current ones that have cited them.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
Useful for searches relating to plant science, fisheries, ecology, nutrition, environmental sciences, and veterinary science. (1969-today)
Subjects include: animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, and extension and education.
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
BIOSIS Previews, also known as Biological Abstracts, provides the most comprehensive coverage of worldwide literature in the life sciences. BIOSIS Previews indexes approximately papers from 5,500 life science journals and 1,500 international meetings; review articles, books, and monographs are also monitored for inclusion. The index includes areas of biology such as agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, ecology, genetics, immunology, medicine, microbiology, neuroscience, pharmacology, physiology, and zoology.
Geobase (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Find articles in the fields of physical and human geography, geology, mineralogy, ecology and development studies. International in scope.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A key database for medical research.
MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from biomedical journals published in the United States and other countries. The database contains citations dating back to the mid-1950's. Journal articles are indexed for MEDLINE using NLM's subject heading system, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an education literature database. The database deals with material as old as 1966 and currently indexes over 600 journals.
Includes journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers. There is a free version that anyone can use at eric.ed.gov. Use the library version because you will be able to access the full-text of the articles you find more easily. Currently indexes more than 600 journals.

In addition, contributors have given ERIC permission to display more than 115,000 full-text materials in PDF format. These materials are generally part of the recent grey literature such as conference papers and reports, rather than journal articles and books. Older ERIC documents that are not free on the web are available on microfiche, but must be recalled from storage.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) is an outstanding source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains more than 6,000 sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media. Use the Easy Search form if you just need a quick answer to a simple query, you're not familiar with advanced searching methods, or you're not sure which sources to use. Enter any terms or phrases, with or without connectors, and Easy Search will determine the best searching method (terms and connectors or natural language) based on what you entered.
Previously called LexisNexis Academic. Nexis Uni is an outstanding source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.

If single sign on fails use this url:
https://proxy.lib.miamioh.edu/login?url=https://www.nexisuni.com
7/10/2024. NEXIS UNI.
http://www.nexisuni.com IN A-Z taken out

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a good resource, just keep in mind that not all journal articles can be found there. You will be able to link to some full text automatically. If you search from on campus, you will automatically see the Find It @ MiamiOH link. Try to get a hold of full text from that link, or ask me.

Search Tip: Use the Find It! Button

When you search a database for a "Full Text" item, you are only searching through that particular database for the document in full-text, and not our entire collection. An item may exist as a "Full Text" selection within a different database.

If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databses for that same item. You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.

Last Updated: Jun 20, 2024 11:27 AM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/dragonfly
Print Page

Subjects: Biology