Makerspace Equipment Guides: Home
Instructional content for users of the Makerspace.
Looking for general information about the Makerspace? Go to the Makerspace page for information about equipment, hours, and policies.
About This Guide
This guide contains information on how to use the equipment in the Makerspace. Click the machinery pages on the left for tutorials, videos, and step-by-step guides on Makerspace equipment.
Getting Started with Makerspace Projects
Wondering where to get started with a Silhouette or Carvey project? Often you'll want to start with pre-made file rather than starting from scratch, especially for your first time using a machine.
Public Domain Images
- Wikipedia:Public domain image resourcesWikipedia has a very thorough list of public domain image repositories. This is a great place to look for images for projects on the Silhouette, Carvey, or Embroidery machines.
- PixabayPixabay is a searchable collection of free public domain images.
- British LibraryOver a million images, taken mostly from illustrations in 17th, 18th and 19th Century books, released into the public domain
- New York Public Library Public Domain CollectionsMore than 180,000 of the items in the New York Public Library Digital Collections are in the public domain. Various visualization tools, search, and download options are available.
- Miami University Libraries Digital Collections - FlickrThe Flickr stream of Miami University Libraries Digital Collections. Includes lots of interesting public domain images, including the Victorian Trade Cards Collection.
