Educational Leadership: Find Journal Articles
Databases
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowEssential and authoritative database for education research. An index from the US Department of Education that has been around since 1964 ,with some full-text access.
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides resources on all levels of education, including higher education and includes more professional and trade publications than indexed elsewhere.
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowOnline access to abstracts and full-text articles on public policy research and analysis from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations, and publishers. 1990- present.
- PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowPsycInfo is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowEssential and authoritative database for sociology and related fields.
- What Works Clearinghouse This link opens in a new windowCollects and summarizes high-quality education research on programs, products, practices, and policies on to answer the question “what works in education?” to improve student outcomes.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a great way to track research impact. By clicking on the 'cited by' link for a publication, you can discover other researchers who have referenced that article or book in their work. Alternatively, clicking on the 'related articles' link helps you find similar publications on the same topic.
Educational Leadership Journals
- Educational Management, Administration & LeadershipArticles presenting a variety of viewpoints aimed at leaders in elementary, middle and secondary education, those interested in curriculum, instruction, supervision and leadership in schools.
- Educational LeadershipArticles presenting a variety of viewpoints aimed at leaders in elementary, middle and secondary education, those interested in curriculum, instruction, supervision and leadership in schools.
- Journal of Higher EducationPublished in affiliation with the American Association for Higher Education. Articles, review essays and book reviews dealing with all aspects of higher education.
- Journal of Special Education LeadershipProvides practical information with a solid research base to meet the needs of special education directors, principals, superintendents and researchers.
Search Strategies and Tools
Brainstorming Keywords
When looking in databases for articles, it's a good idea to come up with a list of keywords first and continue to write new ones down throughout your research. Here is an example of keywords I came up with for "effective practices for distance learning in higher education":
Database Tool: "Choose Databases"
The option to choose databases is very helpful when you want to search in more than one subject database at a time.
Once you have selected "Choose Databases," you can check any database that you would also like to search. (This can be especially helpful when you are covering intersectional topics, but is also helpful to make sure you are covering your topic completely.) Here is what the list of databases will look like:
Database Tool: The Thesaurus
This is a great tool when you want to make sure you are using the right search terms. You can find it on the top of your toolbar in a database, like ERIC.
Once you click on "Thesaurus," you can use the search box in the middle of the page to find subject headings used in a particular database. Here is an example of searching "online learning." This particular database suggests "electronic learning."
