ENG/LAS 254: Latinx Literatures and the Americas (Androne): Finding Articles
Scholarly and Literary Databases
Use the following databases to find information about authors you are studying and their creative works. Just enter the name of your author or the name of one of their works in the search blank.
- Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Designed for undergraduate students, this contains information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more, drawn from these sources: Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism (starting with vol. 95), and Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature. In addition it provides selected full-text, excerpted critical materials, articles from 260 literary journals, and links to selected websites.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowAn index to scholarly articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations published internationally on modern (Medieval to today) languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics (including composition and rhetoric since 2000). Coverage has varied but now includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. Some full-text.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowCovers a wide range of full-text scholarly content, academic journals, primary sources, and e-books, across a wide range of subject areas. Also searches artwork in ARTstor. Collections I-X all campuses. Collection XI Oxford and Middletown campus users only. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
Articles & More - reaching a wider variety of publications
- Start searching for articles here (searches 80 databases at once).
- Use limiters to narrow your results - peer-reviewed, subject, date, etc.
- Use the "Cite" tool on the right to create an APA or MLA citation.
- To share this article, copy the Permalink on the right in the item record (not the browser URL).
Watch: Articles & More (Burke, 3:00 min., 2018) or Focusing Your Search in Articles & More (Burke, 2:17 min., 2020)
Google Scholar: an alternative for finding articles
- Google ScholarAcademic research articles and books, found through Google. Some will be freely accessible, and some will require a subscription.
Latinx Literature Collections
- Latin American Women Writers This link opens in a new windowLatin American Women Writers contains full-text prose, poetry and drama by Latin American Women. Authors are from Mexico and South and Central America. Materials are in Spanish and Portuguese as well as French, Italian and English.
- Latino Literature This link opens in a new windowContains the full-text of poetry, fiction, and drama written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latin authors working in the United States.
- Latin American Newspapers Series 1-2 This link opens in a new windowPart of the World Newspaper Archive, a searchable database of diverse 19th and 20th century newspapers from Latin America and is divided into Series 1 (1805-1922) and Series 2 (1822-1922) including content from newspapers published throughout South and Central America, Mexico, and the Caribbean.
