chat loading...

CRE/ENG 338: African American Writing, 1946-Present (Androne): Finding Articles

Scholarly and Literary Databases

Use the following databases to find information about authors you are studying and their creative works. Just enter the name of your author or the name of one of their works in the search blank.

Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. Combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Designed for undergraduate students, this contains information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more, drawn from these sources: Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism (starting with vol. 95), and Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature. In addition it provides selected full-text, excerpted critical materials, articles from 260 literary journals, and links to selected websites.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
An index to scholarly articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations published internationally on modern (Medieval to today) languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics (including composition and rhetoric since 2000). Coverage has varied but now includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. Some full-text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of full-text scholarly content, academic journals, primary sources, and e-books, across a wide range of subject areas. Also searches artwork in ARTstor. Collections I-X all campuses. Collection XI Oxford and Middletown campus users only. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.

Articles & More - reaching a wider variety of publications

Articles & More

Start searching for articles here (searches 80 databases at once).
Use limiters to narrow your results - peer-reviewed, subject, date, etc.
Use the "Cite" tool on the right to create an APA or MLA citation.
To share this article, copy the Permalink on the right in the item record (not the browser URL).

Watch: Articles & More (Burke, 3:00 min., 2018) or Focusing Your Search in Articles & More (Burke, 2:17 min., 2020)

Google Scholar

Google Scholar
Academic research articles and books, found through Google. Some will be freely accessible, and some will require a subscription.
Does Miami already own a Google Scholar article?
Two Minute Tutorial: Google Scholar

Getting Started

If you aren't sure how to phrase your topic for searching, use our Pre-Search service to get suggestions on words to use and places to search.

Last Updated: Feb 15, 2024 9:40 AM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/c.php?g=869528
Print Page