Data Services: Finding Data & Statistics
Finding Data and Statistics - General Collections
Data Archives and Collections
There are many archives (often subject-related) that collect sets of data.
Data.gov - the main repository for government data. But sometimes going to the various departments can be a quicker way to find specific data and information. A few of the more popular ones are:
- U.S. Census Bureau - the source for U.S. housing and demographic data.
- Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology (FCSM) - U.S. statistical information
- World Factbook - CIA-sponsored information about countries around the world.
- Center for Disease Control and Prevention - health and life data for U.S. people.
- GeoPlatform.gov - geographically enriched social, economic, environmental, and other data
- NCHE - National Center for Homeless Education
- FRED - the Federal Reserve Data Site
- Bureau of Transportation Statistics - From the DOT their main data site
- NCES - National Center for Educational Statistic
- Cincinnati Open Data - City of Cincinnati Open Data site
- FBI Crime DatabaseCrime data for the nation are derived from Summary Reporting System (SRS) and National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS) reports voluntarily submitted to the FBI.
- Finding Data on the InternetFrom Robert Niles site a list of various sites, divided into categories
- Harvard University's Data-Smart City SolutionsData-Smart City Solutions is working to catalyze adoption of data projects on the local government level by serving as a central resource for cities interested in this emerging field. We highlight best practices, top innovators, and promising case studies while also connecting leading industry, academic, and government officials.
- ICPSRICPSR, hosted by the University of Michigan is the world's largest social studies data archive. Create an account with your Miami ID to get full access.
- IPUMSIPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge.
- Miami Libraries Data Subscriptionsa list of data sources (with descriptions) that Miami University Libraries subscribe to.
- Miami University Faculty and Graduate Student data setsData compiled by Miami researchers. Located on Miami's Scholarly Commons.
- Open Access Data Repository ListThis is a list of repositories and databases for open data, listed by subject area of specific data repositories.
- Re3dataRe3data is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines.
- StatistaA provider of market and consumer data
- Tableau Free Public DataLinks to free datasets across the internet, including government and private souces.
