Subject & Course Guides: MKT 335 Resources: Home

Database Video Tutorials

Database Video Tutorials
View these short videos to see how to search the library marketing databases.

These are the Industry Data Sources you will need for the Secondary Data Report.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Ibisworld is a source for in-depth full-text manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, and service industry market research reports. Ibisworld reports are only available for the US.
Marketline This link opens in a new window
Marketline is an excellent source for US and international market research industry reports.
Hoover's D&B Business Browser This link opens in a new window
Hoover's has industry reports and you can create lists of all of the companies in an industry, either in the US or internationally.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Use this to find statistics on your industry.
Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.

These are the Company Data Sources you will need for the Secondary Data Report.

Hoover's D&B Business Browser This link opens in a new window
Hoover's is a comprehensive business database, providing US and international company information. This source includes company financial data and corporate family trees, information on competitors, SWOT analyses, and analysts reports.
Marketline This link opens in a new window
Marketline is an excellent source for reports on larger US and international companies.

These are the Consumer Focused Data Sources you will need for the Secondary Data Report.

MRI-Simmons This link opens in a new window
MRI Simmons Catalyst is a database of US consumer survey data that provides information on who consumes what, and connects that to the consumers' demographics and media usage. For help using Simmons Insights, see this tip sheet. Use is limited to 10 simultaneous users.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Mintel has full-text in-depth market research reports and infographics covering consumer segments such as automotive, clothing, health, food, retail, travel, etc. Mintel also reports on specific demographics, (millennials, affluent consumers, multicultural, children, etc.),
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics is an Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.
Miami's subscription includes access to data from the EASI Standard Package (which includes data from the year 2000, 2010, Current Estimates, and Five Year Projections), the EASI Life Stages Package, the Experian SimmonsLOCAL, and the Nielsen Claritas PRIZM&‌Acirc; Data Packages.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the place to find popular and scholarly full-text business journal articles and business news.
It also includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports and detailed company profiles for thousands of the world's largest companies. Includes some ahead of print content.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Go to http://nytimes.com/grouppass and sign up for a FREE NY Times account. Note you must create the account when you are Physically ON-Campus but then you can access it anywhere once it is set up.
If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address, you may log in with those credentials. Students may also be asked to enter their anticipated graduation date. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy full access from any location. Faculty, staff, and students will need to renew their access every 6 months from an on campus location, as prompted by the NYT
Wall Street Journal (4 years ago - present) This link opens in a new window
Full FREE access to the WSJ online for ALL Miami students, staff, and faculty. To sign up, go to the WSJ registration page at http://wsj.com/MiamiOH. Once you set up your account, you can go directly to https://www.wsj.com/ from any device anywhere in the world.