Newspapers: International Newspapers

General Databases

Factiva (M. U. only)
5 simultaneous users. Newspapers from all over the world and in many languages. Use search builder function to narrow down to sources from a particular country.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text news from around the world. Tutorial on locating news from a particular country: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4bHIi65bDYA
Previously called LexisNexis Academic. Nexis Uni is an outstanding source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.

If single sign on fails use this url:
https://proxy.lib.miamioh.edu/login?url=https://www.nexisuni.com
7/10/2024. NEXIS UNI.
http://www.nexisuni.com IN A-Z taken out
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Oxford campus users only. Alternative Press Index is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Database includes citations of some content that the libraries have not purchased.
Alternative Press Index covers theories and practices of: socialism, revolution, ecology, democracy, anarchism, feminism, organized labor, indigenous peoples, and gay and lesbian issues. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary and begins with 1969.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary and comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the African American, Caribbean, African, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian and Pacific Islander, European and Eastern European, Hispanic, and Native peoples press.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Regional, national, and international newspapers and broadcast transcripts. Search for the topic, then use publication narrower to select the international source of interest.

Regional Newspaper Databases

African Newspapers Series 1 and 2 This link opens in a new window
Collection of 19c and 20c newspapers from many countries in Africa. Most newspapers are in English. Coverage varies by title.
British Periodicals Collection II This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of selected English literary, theatrical, and creative arts periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts. Topics include literature, music, art, drama, archaeology, and architecture. Late 17th to early 20th centuries.
All of this material is available in page image format with fully searchable text. Users can filter results by article type and download articles as either PDFs or JPEG page images. Topics covered include literature, music, art, drama, archaeology, and architecture.
Current Digest of the Russian Press This link opens in a new window
A weekly English language publication providing comprehensive coverage of national news, current events, economic developments, and cultural events in Russia.
Founded in 1949, the Current Digest was first published as The Current Digest of the Soviet Press (1949-1991), followed by The Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press (1992-2010), and now The Current Digest of the Russian Press. Each week the Current Digest presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research. They are therefore presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal.
Latin American Newspapers Series 1-2 This link opens in a new window
Part of the World Newspaper Archive, a searchable database of diverse 19th and 20th century newspapers from Latin America and is divided into Series 1 (1805-1922) and Series 2 (1822-1922) including content from newspapers published throughout South and Central America, Mexico, and the Caribbean.
Mideastwire This link opens in a new window
5 simultaneous users. A daily newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing in the media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.
Moscow News Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Moscow News (pub. 1930-2014) was the oldest English-language newspaper in Russia.
Pravda Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Pravda ("Truth") was the official newspaper of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991.
Publication of Pravda was completely suspended in 1915 and 1916, and no issues were produced. The lack of database content for this period is not a gap, but reflects the publication schedule during these years.
Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2006 This link opens in a new window
Full-text page and article images of the Sunday edition of the Times, London newspaper. The Sunday Times has always been published by a separate publisher from the daily edition. Major newspaper not only for Britain, but also for articles on the British colonies and much of Europe. 1822 - 2006
Times Digital Archive, 1785-2010 This link opens in a new window
Full-text page and article images of the daily edition of the Times, London newspaper. The daily edition of the Times has always been published by a separate publisher from the Sunday edition. Major newspaper not only for Britain, but also for articles on the British colonies and much of Europe. 1822 - 2006
The index to the paper after 1985 is available in the King Index area at the end of the reference section. Older indexes are available in King Circulation. Microfilm of the newspaper is available by request from the Instructional Materials Center.

Listings of Newspaper Websites

All You Can Read Newspapers
Media directory of 22,800 local and international newspapers.
LANIC
Latin American newspaper websites
Newspapers on the Internet
Links to mostly European newspapers.
World Newspapers.com
World newspapers, magazines, and news sites in English, sorted by country and region.

Last Updated: Oct 21, 2024 2:22 PM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/newspapers
Print Page

Subjects: American Studies, History, Political Science, Women's Gender and Sexuality Studies