Sports Studies: KNH 453/553/621
On this page
The databases and other resources on this page will help you find articles for your annotated bibliographies and specific aims proposals. Don't hesitate to reach out to me if you run into any problems.
Best Bets
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSPORTDiscus with full-text is the definitive database for sports and sports medicine research. Providing hundreds of full-text sports medicine journals, it is an essential tool for health professionals and researchers studying fitness, health and sports.
- Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
NOTE: If prompted, please enter your MU credentials. Do not select “Institutional Sign In.” Clearing web browser cookies and cache may also fix access issues.
Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. The Web of Science Core Collection includes the following databases: Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present). Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) freely accessible interface to the MEDLINE bibliographic database, covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biomedical engineering, the health care system, and the basic biomedical sciences.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowNursing and allied health database. Also uses the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH), which may be extremely useful to you, depending on your topic.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making (e.g., systematic reviews). Cochrane Reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
New to searching for literature?
This series of short videos will show you a few useful techniques you can use to improve your literature searches.
ORCiD
- ORCiDORCID provides a persistent digital identifier that you own and control, and that distinguishes you from every other researcher. It is free to create and maintain.
Get to Full Text with Find It!
Most literature indexes do not have the actual journal articles included within them. Instead, these indexes just contain information about the article, e.g. titles, authors, abstract.
When you find an article of interest in an index, click the "Find It" button by that entry to get to the full text. If we have a subscription, "Find It" will provide a link to the journal article. (Or if we have the print, it will provide a link to the catalog with the location and call number.)
(A few databases, like Academic Search Complete, include full text for some articles. These databases may allow you to search only for articles available in full text, but be aware that you are only searching a small portion of the articles we actually subscribe to.)
