Newspapers: Home
Newspaper Website Subscriptions
Miami University students, faculty, and staff are eligible for full subscriber access to the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal. To access these resources you will need to register an account on the NYT or WST websites.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowGo to nytimes.com/grouppass. Create a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address. You may need to be on campus when renewing your account.
- Wall Street Journal (4 years ago - present) This link opens in a new window
Current faculty, staff, and students can activate their Miami University Libraries-sponsored Wall Street Journal account from any location on or off campus. Click “view more” for details…
- Go to the WSJ registration page.
- Enter first and last name
- Select an Account Type from the dropdown: Student, Professor, or Staff
- Enter your email address and create a password. The email address and password will allow access on other devices outside of the university network.
- Click Create to complete registration and create your WSJ subscription.
- Once you have an account you can go directly to: https://www.wsj.com/
Newspaper Databases
These newspaper databases contain plain-text articles from thousands of newspapers, with a particular focus on newspapers from the United States. Most articles in these databases are plain-text and may not include photographs or formatting.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
This includes full-text coverage of many major U.S. and international newspapers. It also includes television and radio transcripts, and business and trade journals as well as company reports and financial data. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary and comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the African American, Caribbean, African, Arab and Middle Eastern, Asian and Pacific Islander, European and Eastern European, Hispanic, and Native peoples press.
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new windowOxford campus users only. Alternative Press Index is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Database includes citations of some content that the libraries have not purchased.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowIndexes regional, national, and international newspapers and broadcast transcripts (CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR and more). Some sources are full-text and some just indexed. Dates of coverage varies by source, but are generally contemporary as opposed to historical.
