ESP- Starting a Business: Home

NYT & WSJ; Cincy Business Courier

New York Times
Go to nytimes.com/grouppass. Create a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address.
NOTE: You need to be on campus when registering or renewing your account.

If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your university e-mail address, you may log in with those credentials. Students may also be asked to enter their anticipated graduation date. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy full access from any location. Faculty, staff, and students will need to renew their access every 6 months from an on campus location, as prompted by the NYT
Wall Street Journal (4 years ago - present)
Current faculty, staff, and students can activate their Miami University Libraries-sponsored Wall Street Journal account from any location on or off campus. Click “view more” for details…
- Go to the WSJ registration page.
- Enter first and last name
- Select an Account Type from the dropdown: Student, Professor, or Staff
- Enter your email address and create a password. The email address and password will allow access on other devices outside of the university network.
- Click Create to complete registration and create your WSJ subscription.
- Once you have an account you can go directly to: https://www.wsj.com/
Cincinnati Business Courier
The latest business news from the Cincinnati Business Courier. This has full access to all 44 other local business journals owned by American City Business Journals. Login instructions.

Subscription is provided by Miami's Center for Career Exploration and Success.
- Go to the Cincinnati Business Courier registration page.
- Enter your Miami email address
- Create a password
- Enter your zip code
- Select any newsletters or alerts you'd like to receive
- On the next Group Subscriptions screen - MUST click on Miami University Center for Exploration & Success. If this is skipped your account will be created, but you will not have unlocked access.
- Once you have an account you can go directly to: Cincinnati Business Courier

Best Bets

Business Source Complete
Indexes and abstracts a number of scholarly business journals, the majority of which are available in full-text. Also includes company, industry, and country reports covering both domestic and international. Covers the subject areas of management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and marketing.

It also includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports and detailed company profiles for thousands of the world's largest companies. Includes some ahead of print content.
Hoover's D&B Business Browser
This resource provides U.S. and international company and industry information. This source includes company financial data and corporate family trees, information on competitors, SWOT analyses, and analyst reports. Previously known as OneSource. 50 simultaneous users.
IBISWorld
A resource for full-text industrial market research reports. Reports are available in variety of areas including mining, construction, wholesale and retail distribution, manufacturing, agriculture, transportation, education, financial services, arts, entertainment, accommodations and food service, and more. Search by keyword, NAICS or SIC codes.
Marketline
Marketline consists of reports on 10,000 companies in the US and internationally, as well as 2,000 industry reports and in-depth country and city reports. It also includes mergers & acquisitions data.
Mintel Academic
NOTE: You will need to create an account to download data. See this guide about how to register:

Has full-text in-depth market research reports and infographics covering consumer segments such as automotive, clothing, health, food, retail, travel, etc. Also reports on specific demographics (millennials, affluent consumers, multicultural, children, etc.), and specific themes (convenience, ethical, social media, mobile, etc.). Includes some global coverage.
RKMA Market Research Handbooks
Access to the following handbooks: Business to Business Marketing, Consumer Behavior, Consumer Marketing, Entertainment, Media and Advertising Market Research Handbook, Healthcare Business Market Research Handbook, International Consumer Markets, Leisure Market Research Handbook, Restaurant, Food and Beverage Market Research Handbook, Retail Business Market Research Handbook, Sports Marketing, Travel and Tourism Market Research Handbook.
SimplyAnalytics
This web-based mapping application allows users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. For help using SimplyAnalytics, see this guide. Access is limited to 4 simultaneous users.

Miami's subscription includes access to data from the EASI Standard Package (which includes data from the year 2000, 2010, Current Estimates, and Five Year Projections), the EASI Life Stages Package, the Experian SimmonsLOCAL, and the Nielsen Claritas PRIZM&‌Acirc; Data Packages.
Statista
Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics & reports; insights into consumers and markets include brand share, sales channels, and more. Scope is US, international, global.

Statista help can be found here.

Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.

Your Librarian

Erica Freed

she/her/hers

Email Me

Subjects: Accountancy, Business, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Management, Marketing

Last Updated: Oct 14, 2025 8:44 AM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/ESP-Starting-Business
Print Page