Women & Gender in Film (ENG/WGS/FST 356): Home
Quick Links
This guide is designed to assist those engaged in studying women and gender in film at Miami University, especially in ENG/WGS 356. The tabs at the side of the page link to detailed guides to finding useful information in several categories. This front page of the guide provides a select list of "Best Bets," a select list of key resources for researching women and gender and film at Miami.
Select from the following areas:
- Journal Articles
- Books
- Films
- Reference: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
- Citing & Organizing Your Research
- Related Subject Guides
- Video Editing Tools at Miami
Additional resources:
- Newspaper Articles
- Finding & Working With Primary Sources
Best Bets
Here is a select list of key resources in this area:
Books and Films:
- "Books and More"A "Books and More" search from the Miami LIbraries' homepage will search for books, films and other materials that are not articles from newspapers, magazine or journal publications. Searches can be limited to ebooks, print books, or videos/eresources.
Articles:
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowAn index to scholarly articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations published internationally on film, literarure, and linguistics. Coverage has varied but now includes literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (radio, television, theater). Some content listed in the MLA Bibliography may not be held by the Miami Libraries.
- Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFilm & Television Literature Index is an index to articles in popular and scholarly journals, including international film journals, popular and trade journals, and reference books. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
- Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete is a broad multidisciplinary database. After you do a search, you can use the left-hand menu to limit your search results to just peer-reviewed academic journals, or to newspaper or magazine articles.
Reference Sources:
The Routledge Companion to Cinema and Gender by Call Number: PN1995.9.S47ISBN: 1317408039Publication Date: 2016-11-10Comprised of 43 innovative contributions, the Routledge Companion to Cinema and Gender companion is both an overview of, and intervention into the field of cinema and gender. The essays included here address a variety of geographical contexts.. A special focus is on women directors in a global context that includes films and filmmakers from Asia, Africa, Australia, Europe, North and South America.
The Encyclopedia of Sexism in American Films by Call Number: PN1995.9.W6 E528 2020ebISBN: 9781538115510Publication Date: 2019-11-29The Encyclopedia of Sexism in American Films closely examines the many, pervasive forms of sexism in contemporary productions--from clueless comedies to superhero blockbusters, with more than 130 entries.
- Oxford Bibliography of Cinema and Media StudiesThis collection provides expert annotated bibliographies across an array of subfields: film history, television studies, media studies, critical theory, visual arts, cultural studies, digital culture, game studies, popular culture, and the study of the moving image
