Entrepreneurship: Consumer Markets
Database
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
NOTE: You will need to create an account to download data. See this tip sheet about how to register:
Has full-text in-depth market research reports and infographics covering consumer segments such as automotive, clothing, health, food, retail, travel, etc. Also reports on specific demographics (millennials, affluent consumers, multicultural, children, etc.), and specific themes (convenience, ethical, social media, mobile, etc.). Includes some global coverage. - MRI-Simmons This link opens in a new window
MRI Simmons Catalyst is a database of US consumer survey data that provides information on who consumes what, and connects that to the consumers' demographics and media usage. For help using Simmons Insights, see this tip sheet. Use is limited to 10 simultaneous users.
- eMarketer This link opens in a new windowProvides charts, forecasts, and reports on marketing, advertising, ecommerce, finance, healthcare, and tech industries with an emphasis on consumer behavior.
- SRDS Media Solutions This link opens in a new windowSRDS contains advertising rates, circulation data, audience metrics and contact information for print and online trade journals and consumer magazines. Limited information is available for newspapers, out-of-home advertising, online advertising, and international publications. SRDS also provides access to Nielsen Segmentation & Market Solutions data. This allows you to create reports based on metro areas or zip codes and includes consumer demographic and segmentation information as well as PRIZM data. Limited content from Claritas 360 can be accessed through SRDS..
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowThis web-based mapping application allows users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables Access is limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Government Data
- Data.Census.GovThe census bureau's main data dissemination platform and the successor to American Fact Finder.
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsProvide state, regional and national data on labor forces. Also provide some international data.