APC 201: Introduction to Health and Risk Communication (Kuznekoff): Finding Articles
APC 201 Databases and Research Guides
Use these sources to find more information on the topics you are researching, or to discover topics that interest you:
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive research database provides full-text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL Plus. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
- ComAbstracts This link opens in a new windowComAbstracts abstracts articles published in 40 primary journals of the communication field. Coverage varies for each journal, but usually begins in the late 1980s. The citation or abstract may be searched by keyword or phrase.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals in areas related to communication and mass media, and selected coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowEnvironment Complete is a leading full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. It also includes millions of records and an environmental thesaurus.
- Health Source - Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowHealth Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
- MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCreated by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by healthcare professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.
Research guides - more databases and other information sources on the topic in the title
Articles & More - reaching a wider variety of publications
- Start searching for articles here (searches 80 databases at once).
- Use limiters to narrow your results - peer-reviewed, subject, date, etc.
- Use the "Cite" tool on the right to create an APA or MLA citation.
- To share this article, copy the Permalink on the right in the item record (not the browser URL).
Watch: Articles & More (Burke, 3:00 min., 2018) or Focusing Your Search in Articles & More (Burke, 2:17 min., 2020)
Google Scholar: an alternative for finding articles
- Google ScholarAcademic research articles and books, found through Google. Some will be freely accessible, and some will require a subscription.
Getting Started: ask me for ideas!
If you aren't sure how to phrase your topic for searching, use our Pre-Search service to get suggestions on words to use and places to search.
Search Tip: Use the Find It! Button
When you search a database for a "Full Text" item, you are only searching through that particular database for the document in full-text, and not our entire collection. An item may exist as a "Full Text" selection within a different database.
If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databses for that same item. You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.