Subject & Course Guides: MKT 495: Home

International Medical Marketing

Marketline
Research healthcare industry in different countries. Find PESTLE analyses for countries and cities.
BCC Research
On campus access only. BCC Research provides detailed market research reports in emerging industries including biotech, healthcare, pharmaceuticals, and information technology.
To login click on the Member Login button, then the IP Authenticate button.

Login/password required
Statista
Worldwide medical technology market analysis available; compare different countries. Statista troubleshooting help can be found here.

Categorized into 21 market sectors, it provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Statista includes data sources such as market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. For each statistic, metadata is also provided including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available in the database.

Marketing Tactics

eMarketer
Provides charts, forecasts, and reports on marketing, advertising, ecommerce, finance, healthcare, and tech industries with an emphasis on consumer behavior.
SRDS Media Solutions
SRDS contains advertising rates, circulation data, and contact information for print and online trade journals and consumer magazines. Can find many medical journals here.

[Ebook] The Essential Step-by-Step Guide to Selling to Doctors and Hospitals

Medical Device News

Medical Device Network
The leading site for news and procurement in the medical device industry.
MedTech Dive
Mostly US focused but company news can be found here.
Health Management
Based in Europe, but has international news. Also has events, directories, product pages, etc.

Computer-Assisted Surgical Systems

FDA - Computer-Assisted Surgical Systems explainer
Computer assisted surgery - AO Surgery Reference
More descriptive medical explanation of how these systems work and how surgeons use them.
Computer vision in surgery: from potential to clinical value

PubMed - Clinical Level Information

PubMed
PubMed - MeSH - Robotic Surgical Procedures
More targeted subject heading for laparoscopic surgeries.
PubMed - MeSH - Surgery, Computer-Assisted
The overall term for the kinds of surgeries laparoscopic robots may fall under. "Surgical procedures conducted with the aid of computers. Used in various types of surgery for implant placement and instrument guidance."
PubMed - MeSH Term - Surgical Procedures, Operative
Shows you all the possible search terms for surgical procedures.
PubMed - Computer Assisted Navigation
A simple keyword search for 'computer assisted navigation' in PubMed. May be useful for finding clinical evidence.

International Health Data

Data Commons
Open access health data
International Hospital Federation
OECD Hospital Beds
OECD Source Data for Hospital Beds
Get data on countries you want to compare
Commonwealth Fund - Health Systems
Only has select countries, but lots of great information if the country is available.
Specialist surgical workforce rate
Global Atlas of Medical Devices
From WHO. Last updated in 2022. Contains information on every country about the presence of a national policy on medical technology, medical device availability, and more.
Healthcare regulatory framework by Country
This is intended primarily as a legal guide for companies expanding their medication and how they can interact with healthcare providers (HCPs in the data).
Medical devices marketing restrictions by country
From same org. as above. Less about how to get a device approved vs. what kind of marketing to doctors is allowed in each country.

Finding Doctors or Specialists

US Embassy websites maintain a list of medical providers in that country. They may only list doctors that can provide services in English, so this list is not complete, and every embassy is different. However this can be a good place to start researching the healthcare landscape in a particular country and/or city.

List of all US Embassies

Once you have selected the country you want to research:

Click on Emergency Assistance in the I Need... box
Click on Local Resources tab or scroll down to that section and then click on Medical Assistance.
A side column or new page should appear with a link that says something like "List of Doctors" or "Find Medical Professionals."

Europe

Health Statistics for Europe
Curated by UC Davis - provides links to health data for all European countries
EUDAMED
EUDAMED - European Database on Medical Devices
European Medicines Agency
The European Medicines Agency (EMA) is a decentralised agency of the European Union (EU). It is responsible for the scientific evaluation, supervision and safety monitoring of medicines.
European Society of Thoracic Surgeons
European Medical Association
European Union of Medical Specialists
EIT Health
European Institute of Innovation and Technology (EIT) Health. Sponsors a think tank and R&D.

Asia Pacific

Health Statistics for Asia
Curated by UC Davis - provides links to health data for Asian and South Pacific countries.
Australia Health Statistics
From UC Davis - many links to Australian healthcare data.
Hospital Management Asia
Asia-Pacific Healthcare
Bain consulting report
Asian Society for Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery
Singapore Ministry of Health
New Zealand Ministry of Health
India - Ministry of Health and Family Welfare

Middle East & Africa

Africa Health Statistics
Curated list from UC Davis - provides links to health data for African countries.
Egypt Healthcare Authority
Middle East Health Statistics
From UC Davis
Saudi Arabia Ministry of Health
Qatar Ministry of Public Health

Latin America

Central & South America Health Statistics
Curated by UC Davis - provides links to health data for Latin American countries.
LAMA Latin American Medical Association
PAHO BIREME
BIREME is a specialized center of the Pan American Health Organization/World Health Organization (PAHO/WHO).
LILACS
LILACS - Latin American and Caribbean Health Sciences Literature
Latin American Healthcare Sector
JP Morgan consulting report
SciELO
Scientific Electronic Library Online - has collections for Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Mexico, Uruguay and more

Questions? We are here to help!

Business librarian contact information
Abi Morgan	Erica Freed
Email me	Email me
Schedule an appointment	Schedule an appointment
I'm available via: - Office hours @ FSB 3083 Thursdays 1-2:45pm - walk-ins are welcome! Starts 9/11 - In person @ King by appointment Mon, Tue, Thurs - On Zoom by appointment Mon to Fri - Email - expect a response within 1 business day Contact: Office: 206 King Library Phone: 513-529-2789	Find me: - In person @ King by appointment Mon-Fri - On Zoom by appointment Mon-Fri - Email - freede@miamioh.edu Contact: Office: 201 King Library Phone: 513-529-4414

Class handout with extra tips