chat loading...

PSY 485: History and Systems of Psychology (Dietz): Finding Psychology Articles

PSY 485 Databases and Research Guides

PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
Subject include: psychology, speech pathology and audiology, nursing, gerontology, social work, American studies, educational psychology, educational leadership, disability studies.
Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
NOTE: If prompted, please enter your MU credentials. Do not select “Institutional Sign In.” Clearing web browser cookies and cache may also fix access issues.
Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. The Web of Science Core Collection includes the following databases: Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present). Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) freely accessible interface to the MEDLINE bibliographic database, covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biomedical engineering, the health care system, and the basic biomedical sciences.
MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from biomedical journals published in the United States and other countries. The database contains citations dating back to the mid-1950's. Journal articles are indexed for MEDLINE using NLM's subject heading system, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).
DSM-5-TR(Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) This link opens in a new window
DSM-5-TR is used by health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders.
Intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. Provides access to DSM-5, DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnoses, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, and the Spanish edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM-5.
HaPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments) This link opens in a new window
HaPI is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals in the health and social sciences. It provides comprehensive information about behavioral measurement tools, including those related to medicine and nursing, as well as clinical, personality, social, and developmental psychology.
Coverage includes: checklists, coding schemes, indexes, interview schedules, projective techniques, questionnaires, rating scales, surveys, tasks, tests, and vignettes/scenarios.

Use these sources to find more information on the topics you are researching, or to discover topics that interest you:

Research guides - more databases and other information sources on the topic in the title

Possible topics:

American Psychological Association Topics

Articles & More - a great place to start!

Articles & More

Start searching for articles here (searches 80 databases at once).
Use limiters - peer-reviewed, subject, date, etc.
Use "Cite" tool on the right to create an APA citation.
"Research Starter" provides a topic overview.
To share this article, copy the Permalink on the right in the item record. (not the browser URL)

Watch: Articles & More (Long, 2:27 min., 2015)

Need a Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Journal Article? Who writes them? Why? Where do you find one?

Peer Review in 3 Minutes (NCSU Libraries)
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article (NCSU Libraries)

Last Updated: Oct 11, 2024 3:05 PM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/PSY485
Print Page

Subjects: Psychological Science, Psychology