chat loading...

STC 231: Small Group Communication (Bradshaw): Finding Articles

Articles & More - a great place to start!

Articles & More

Start searching for articles here (searches 80 databases at once).
Use limiters - peer-reviewed, subject, date, etc.
Use "Cite" tool on the right to create an APA citation.
"Research Starter" provides a topic overview.
To share this article, copy the Permalink on the right in the item record. (not the browser URL)

Watch: Articles & More (Burke, 3 min., 2018)

Need a Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Journal Article? Who writes them? Why? Where do you find one?

Peer Review in 3 Minutes (NCSU Libraries)
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article (NCSU Libraries)

Databases and Research Guides

ComAbstracts This link opens in a new window
ComAbstracts abstracts articles published in 40 primary journals of the communication field. Coverage varies for each journal, but usually begins in the late 1980s. The citation or abstract may be searched by keyword or phrase.
You can also browse a list of keywords. ComAnalytics provides data about the relative publication performance of individual scholars and of departments of communication (journalism, mass communication, speech, communication studies, media studies, rhetoric, etc.). ComUpdate allows you to select classification terms and a date range in order to stay current on recently added materials.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals in areas related to communication and mass media, and selected coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles.
Furthermore, this database includes full-text for nearly 200 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915).
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Reports include a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources
Reports include a background and chronology; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.
Previously called LexisNexis Academic. Nexis Uni is an outstanding source for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains full-text of sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media.

If single sign on fails use this url:
https://proxy.lib.miamioh.edu/login?url=https://www.nexisuni.com
7/10/2024. NEXIS UNI.
http://www.nexisuni.com IN A-Z taken out
Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
NOTE: If prompted, please enter your MU credentials. Do not select “Institutional Sign In.” Clearing web browser cookies and cache may also fix access issues.
Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. The Web of Science Core Collection includes the following databases: Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present). Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.

Use these sources to find more information on the topics you are researching, or to discover topics that interest you:

Research guides - more databases and other information sources on the topic in the title

Organizations, Associations, and Communication Websites

The American Communication Association
American Forensic Association
American Rhetoric: The Power of Oratory in the United States
International Association for Media and Communication Research
IAMCR is the worldwide professional organization in the field of media and communication research.
National Communication Association
The National Communication Association advances Communication as the discipline that studies all forms, modes, media, and consequences of communication through humanistic, social scientific, and aesthetic inquiry.
The Paley Center for Media
Drawing upon its curators, collection, and relationships with the media community, The Paley Center for Media examines the intersections between media and society.
Pew Internet & American Life Project

Last Updated: Jun 20, 2024 11:27 AM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/STC231
Print Page

Subjects: Communication Studies

Tags: communication, small group communication