Skip to Main Content

CJS 451 Hall: Finding Articles

Search Suggestions

For each topic/research question, you will need to do 2 searches. One with "United States" as one of your keywords, and the other with your country. For example:
prison reform AND United States
prison reform AND China

 

Remember that it is not likely you will find sources that make the comparisons for you. You will need to research the topic for each country and then make the comparisons for yourself in your paper.

Criminal Justice Resources

Youll need to enter your Miami Unique ID and password to access these resources from off-campus.

All of the databases listed below will be helpful when conducting research for this class. You can choose one to search, or you can search all of them at the same time.
-To search more than one of these at the same time, click on one of the links below.
-At the top of the page (above the search boxes) click on “Choose Databases”.
cjs101choosedatabases
-Then check the box(es) next to the other databases you would like to search.
-Scroll to the top or bottom of the pop up window and click “OK”.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text

National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts

Legal Collection

Academic Search Complete

 

screenshot of options in ebsco

If you see links that say “PDF Full Text” or “HTML Full Text”, clicking on those will take you to the full text of the article. Then, on the right-hand side of the page, you’ll see options to:
--download/save the article (blue arrow in the screenshot),
--print the article (red arrows in the screenshot),
--email the article to yourself (yellow arrow in the screenshot), and
--get the citation information for the article (green arrow in the screenshot).

After you click the icon to get the citation, you can highlight, copy, and paste the APA-formatted citation into your document. Always be sure to double-check your copied citations, though. Sometimes formatting, such as italics and hanging indents, aren’t correct. Information is typically in the correct order, but good to double-check that as well.

 

 

Use the button to look for full-text!

Nexis Uni

​Nexis Uni

  • ​Enter your topic in the large search box at the top of the page.
  • The default for the results list is to show news articles.
  • Click on one of the other categories listed on the left-hand side to see that type of source.

 

Click on the title of the item to get to the full text.

 

When you are viewing the full text of the item, there are options at the top of the page to:
-print the item (red arrow)
-email the item to yourself (blue arrow)
-download the item so you can save it to your computer or flash drive (yellow arrow)
-send the item directly to your Google Drive (green arrow)

You can get the citation information for the item formatted in APA style by clicking on the "Export Citation" button below the title of the item. (purple arrow)

Search Tips

“And”, “Or”, “Not” (Boolean Operators): Use the words to narrow or expand your search results. For Example:

  • “automobiles” AND “accidents” will return results that contain BOTH of the terms.
  • “juvenile” OR “adolescent” OR “teenager” will return results that contain at least one of the terms. Useful for words with similar meanings.
  • “cinderella” NOT “rock band” will return results that do NOT include the 1980’s rock band, Cinderella.

Use an * at the end of a root word to find all variations of that word. For example, “child*” will search for “child,” “children,” “childhood,” and “children's.”

Brainstorm words or concepts that are similar in meaning and use those as search terms. If you find a good resource, look at the “Subject Headings” or “Descriptors” listed and use those as additional search terms.

Bibliographies/References/Works Cited pages are great ways to find additional resources. You can search the library’s Catalogs and/or Databases.

More Resources

Need more sources? The Criminal Justice Studies Research by Subject page provides links to other resources that might be helpful for your specific topic.

Search Tips

“And”, “Or”, “Not” (Boolean Operators): Use the words to narrow or expand your search results. For Example:

  • “automobiles” AND “accidents” will return results that contain BOTH of the terms.
  • “juvenile” OR “adolescent” OR “teenager” will return results that contain at least one of the terms. Useful for words with similar meanings.
  • “cinderella” NOT “rock band” will return results that do NOT include the 1980’s rock band, Cinderella.

Use an * at the end of a root word to find all variations of that word. For example, “child*” will search for “child,” “children,” “childhood,” and “children's.”

Brainstorm words or concepts that are similar in meaning and use those as search terms. If you find a good resource, look at the “Subject Headings” or “Descriptors” listed and use those as additional search terms.

Bibliographies/References/Works Cited pages are great ways to find additional resources. You can search the library’s Catalogs and/or Databases.

Tutorials and Videos