Biology: BIO 203
Best Bets for finding articles
These databases are likely going to be the best options for finding peer-reviewed, primary research on your topic. Don't hesitate to reach out if you have any questions about using them!
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) freely accessible interface to the MEDLINE bibliographic database, covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biomedical engineering, the health care system, and the basic biomedical sciences.
- BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowBIOSIS Previews, accessed via Web of Science, combines journal content from Biological Abstracts with supplemental, non-journal coverage from Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings). Specialized indexing helps you discover more accurate, context-sensitive results. Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.
- Video: Searching in PubMed (part 1)Instructional video on conducting a basic search in PubMed
- Video: Searching in PubMed (part 2)Instructional video on conducting more advanced searches in PubMed
- Video: Intro to Web of ScienceInstructional video on searching in the Web of Science databases (including BIOSIS Previews)
Websites for background information
Below are some websites you may find useful when tracking down background research and general statistics on your chosen topic. Be aware, this is by no means an exhaustive list; use the sites here as a starting point.
- Centers for Disease Control (CDC)The Centers for Disease Control contains a wealth of information. Try using the links towards the bottom of the home page labeled CDC for You to filter the resources by intended audience.
- World Health Organization (WHO)WHO is the primary health organization of the United Nations. Try using the navigation bar across the top to find information about your chosen health topic.
- HealthfinderConsumer health information from the Department of Health and Human Services.
- Food and Drug AdministrationThe FDA website contains information about drugs, including regulations, clinical trials and lists of recently approved medications.
- drugabuse.govThe website of the National Institute on Drug Abuse, drugabuse.gov provides information on all drugs of abuse. This information is aimed at health professionals as well as the general public. Try using the links across to filter the resources by intended audience.
- National Cancer InstituteThe website for the National Cancer Institute provides a wealth of information about the various forms of cancer, as well as their treatment and prevention.
Understanding APA
You'll be using APA style for your in-text citations and reference list. The links here should help you better understand the requirements of this style, but feel free to ask if you have any specific questions.
- APA Citation Resources guideLinks to Miami Libraries' guide on APA citation style.
- APA Style official website - In-text citationsOfficial guidance from APA on creating and formatting in-text citations.
- APA Style official website - ReferencesOfficial guidance from APA on creating and formatting the end-of-paper reference list.
