Skip to Main Content

BIO 306 - Basic Horticulture: Home

Finding research for your science news assignment

This guide provides some resources and other information that will help you find good articles for your writing assignment. This page has direct links to databases and journals that cover horticulture and similar topics. The other pages will have information about how to find different types of information, like journal articles and extension publications. If you are having trouble coming up with relevant search terms, take a look at the Video Tutorials page of this guide, and if you want more information about how to properly cite the information you find, take a look at the Citations and References page.

Don't hesitate to reach out to me, your subject librarian, if you get stuck or have questions that aren't answered in this guide. Happy searching!

Best bets for finding research

Looking for journal articles? The databases listed below are some recommended options for tracking down mostly articles. If you need a refresher on how to best use them, contact me!

Get to Full Text with Find It!

Most literature indexes do not have the actual journal articles included within them.  Instead, these indexes just contain information about the article, e.g. titles, authors, abstract.

When you find an article of interest in an index, click the "Find It" button by that entry to get to the full text.  If we have a subscription, "Find It" will provide a link to the journal article. (Or if we have the print, it will provide a link to the catalog with the location and call number.)

Find It button

(A few databases, like Academic Search Complete, include full text for some articles. These databases may allow you to search only for articles available in full text, but be aware that you are only searching a small portion of the articles we actually subscribe to.)

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Ginny Boehme
she/her

My appointment scheduler is open for you to meet with me virtually. The default platform I use is Zoom, but if you prefer Google Meet or WebEx, that's not a problem at all.


My spring 2023 semester office hours (held in 334 Pearson):

Mondays, 1pm - 3pm
Wednesdays, 10am - 12pm

No office hours:
Wednesday, January 25
Wednesday, February 22


Contact:
202 King Library
513-529-1726