Asian Studies: Images & Texts

Images

ARTstor
Searchable repository of over 1 million digital images of art, architecture, photography, decorative arts and design, and archaeology.
Historical Photographs of China
More than 8,000 images of China taken between 1850 and 1950
Mainichi PhotoBank
Allows free search of 450,000 photos taken from the Meiji era. Downloads/reproduction rights available for a fee).
NY Public Library Digital Gallery
Includes thousands of images related to East Asia

Asian studies books are likely to be located at King Library under these general call number headings:

BL - Religion
BQ - Buddhism

DS - History, Asia

GR - Folklore

N - Arts (in Art/Arch Library)
ND - Painting
NE - Prints

PJ - Oriental Languages and Literature
PK - Indo-Iranian Languages and Literature
PL - Language and Literature of East Asia, Africa, Oceania

South and Southeast Asian Literature This link opens in a new window
A searchable full-text collection of fiction and poetry written in English by authors from South and Southeast Asia and their diasporas. Focusing on works composed during the late-colonial and post-colonial eras, the collection also features author interviews and manuscript materials that will shed additional light on the rich literary heritage and emerging traditions of this region.
Asian American Drama This link opens in a new window
Contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera. Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.

Complete Tang Poetry Database
Full text of the poems in the Quan Tang Shi collection. Searchable.
Ming-Qing Women's Writing
90 titles by women authors in the late imperial China.
Universal Digital Library (million book collection)
Provides access to hundreds of thousands of Chinese books, mostly out of copyright works.

Aozora Bunko
Thousands of out-of-copyright Japanese books in downloadable files.
Japanese Text Initiative
Access to hundreds of classical, premodern, and early modern texts

Subjects: Area Studies, Asian Studies