Asian Studies: Databases + Journal Articles
Where is the article?
Click on the "Find it!" to see if we have the full text of the article in print or online.
Open Access Journals
Read full text issues of current, open-access journals in East Asian Studies:
Info about journals
"Is that journal peer-reviewed or scholarly?" Find out more information about many journals in Ulrich's Periodicals Directory.
Tips:
- Search by journal TITLE or ISSN whenever possible
- Referee shirt icon means it's peer-reviewed
- Click on the journal title to see what kind of journal it is (under "Document type")
Major Indexes and Databases for Asian Studies
These are large, multidisciplinary indexes or databases that include information about art or architectural history. Some of these indexes offer full-text online journal articles.
- JSTOR: Journal Storage ProjectArchives scholarship published in over 1,000 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The most recently published issues are not available.
- MLA International BibliographyAn index to scholarly articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations published internationally on modern literatures, folklore, and linguistics (including composition and rhetoric) starting with 1926
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesWestern-language citations to articles, books, and other publications on all parts of Asia
- Geobase (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowGeobase is a database, within Engineering Village, of indexed research literature unequalled in its coverage of the international geoscience literature. Topics include: earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation.
Other Useful Databases
These are large, multidisciplinary indexes or databases that include information about art or architectural history. Some of these indexes offer full-text online journal articles.
- Chinese Movie DatabaseProduction, cast and crew, awards and biographies, reviews and books, and many other information of Chinese language movies made in mainland China, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and other regions
- Academic Search CompleteThe broadest, most general index to periodicals, providing abstracts for over 9,300 scholarly and popular periodicals, and full text for more than 5,300 of these.
- Arts and Humanities Citation IndexMultidisciplinary database for humanities journal articles in archeology, architecture, art, Asian studies, classics, dance, folklore, history language, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, poetry, radio, television and film, religion, and theater.