Skip to Main Content

TCE 315P (Hamilton): Award Winners

Award Winners

Here are some links to lists of winners and honor books for various children's literature awards.

  • Randolph Caldecott Medal
    The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.
  • John Newbery Medal - 
    The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the ALSC, a division of the ALA, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
  • Pura Belpre Award
    This award is named after Pura Belpré, the first Latina librarian at the New York Public Library. The Pura Belpré Award, established in 1996, is presented annually to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.
  • Theodor Seuss Geisel Award
    The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year.
  • Robert F Sibert Informational Book Award
    The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal is awarded annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book published in the United States in English during the preceding year.

Selected Award Winners at the MUH Library