Psychology: Find Articles

Links to specific course guides

Databases

PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Premier database for accessing scholarly resources in psychology. Includes journal articles, books, reports, and more on all subjects related to psychology. Ability to limit by methodology (e.g. empirical, qualitative, or quantitative studies).
Subject include: psychology, speech pathology and audiology, nursing, gerontology, social work, American studies, educational psychology, educational leadership, disability studies.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Contains over 30 million citations in fields including medicine, nursing, biomedical engineering, the health care system, and the basic biomedical sciences.
MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from biomedical journals published in the United States and other countries. The database contains citations dating back to the mid-1950's. Journal articles are indexed for MEDLINE using NLM's subject heading system, MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive research database provides full-text for nursing and allied health journals indexed in CINAHL Plus. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
Covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by healthcare professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.
Subject Headings follow the structure of the Medical Subject headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine.
Web of Science (All Databases) This link opens in a new window
NOTE: If prompted, please enter your MU credentials. Do not select “Institutional Sign In.” Clearing web browser cookies and cache may also fix access issues
Use Web of Science to perform a cited reference search, where you can look up an article and see how many times it has been cited. Databases can be searched together or separate and include: Web of Science Core Collection: Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1975-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present). Web of Science Additional Databases: BIOSIS Citation Index (1926-present), BIOSIS Previews, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index (1900-present), Derwent Innovations Index, KCI - Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Russian Science Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, Zoological Record (1864-present). Users may encounter content in this database the library has not purchased.

Other Resources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
ASC is the MU Libraries' general-purpose database. It includes material from most disciplines, so can be a good place to start if you're not sure what index to use. (However, don't rely on it exclusively for serious research in psychology.) It can be particularly helpful if you are looking for "popular science" magazine or newspaper articles.
Academic Search Complete provides abstracts for more than 9,300 scholarly and popular periodicals, with full-text for more than 5,300 of these.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence, representing the highest level on which to base clinical treatment decisions. Includes Systematic Reviews, Methodology Register, Register of Controlled Trials, and more.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of doctoral dissertations and master's theses from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities.
Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Dissertations can be purchased from ProQuest/UMI or are available for download at a price, but you can usually also borrow them for free through Interlibrary Loan

Search Tip: Use the Find It! Button

Find It! button

When you search a database for a "Full Text" item, you are only searching through that particular database for the document in full-text, and not our entire collection. An item may exist as a "Full Text" selection within a different database.

If you don't find an item as full-text in the database you're searching, use the "Find It" button to cross-search other databases for that same item. You may discover that we have electronic access to that material after all.

Info about journals

"Is that journal peer-reviewed or scholarly?" Find out more information about many journals in Ulrich's Periodicals Directory.

Tips:

Search by journal TITLE or ISSN whenever possible
Referee shirt icon means it's peer-reviewed
Click on the journal title to see what kind of journal it is (under "Document type")

Advanced Search Tips

PubMed

Find your subject headings in the MeSH database
Use the Advanced Search page...Never used it before. Check out this short video about it.

PsycInfo

Find your subject headings in the APA Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. You will find the link at the top of the page once you get into PsycInfo
Use the advanced features to limit things like Publication Type, Age Group, Methodology and Language.

Last Updated: Sep 27, 2024 10:58 AM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/Psychology
Print Page

Subjects: Psychology

Tags: Biopsychology, Educational Psychology, Psychology