chat loading...

LST 402 Neumann: Articles

Important Note

Please be sure to review the information on the Before You Search! tab on the left menu before you begin searching in the tools listed on this tab. The Before You Search! tab explains what a "peer reviewed" article is and how to tell when you have found one. It also gives tips for building more effective searches. There are brief videos and tutorials that explain how to choose the best keywords, refine your searches, and evaluate the information you find.

Subject-specific Databases for Liberal Arts

This is a list of some of the most frequently used article databases from a variety of majors. If you don't see anything relevant to your capstone project topic, look for it on this page of research guides for many disciplines or contact your librarian, Krista for assistance (contact info on the Home tab of this guide).

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Generic database that includes some articles about many different topics, but does not have depth in any topic.
Academic Search Complete provides abstracts for more than 9,300 scholarly and popular periodicals, with full-text for more than 5,300 of these.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business-related articles are in this database
It also includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic reports and detailed company profiles for thousands of the world's largest companies. Includes some ahead of print content.
Computers and Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
This database has information about computer engineering and social implications of new technology.
CASC provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. full-text is also available for more than 1,000 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines, computer theory and systems, new technologies, and social & professional context. Research is aided by the inclusion of searchable cited references for key journals.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This database is for education-related topics.
Includes journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers. There is a free version that anyone can use at eric.ed.gov. Use the library version because you will be able to access the full-text of the articles you find more easily. Currently indexes more than 600 journals.

In addition, contributors have given ERIC permission to display more than 115,000 full-text materials in PDF format. These materials are generally part of the recent grey literature such as conference papers and reports, rather than journal articles and books. Older ERIC documents that are not free on the web are available on microfiche, but must be recalled from storage.
PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Covers psychology-related topics.
Subject include: psychology, speech pathology and audiology, nursing, gerontology, social work, American studies, educational psychology, educational leadership, disability studies.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database will help you find articles about some social justice issues and how societies view various topics.
This index contains more than 1,900,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociology-specific thesaurus. This database also contains abstracts for more than 815 core coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, the database provides data mined from more than 630 priority coverage journals as well as 2,840 selective coverage journals. This index replaces Sociological Abstracts.
Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
This database is for broad science coverage. If you need a specific science discipline (ex: botany or chemistry), contact your librarian, Krista, for assistance.

Use the Find It! Button

Some databases include the full text of the articles described in the them. However, most databases do not. When the database does not have the full text of an article, you should see a yellow Find It button like the one above.

Clicking this button will search through other databases that Miami subscribes to looking for the full text. If a different database has it, you will see a link to it on the new tab that opens.

If there is no full text link on the new tab, you should see a link to a form for a service called interlibrary loan (ILL). If you fill out this form, the library will try to find the article from another library on your behalf. This can take several days, however, so if you need the article right away, it is not a good option for you.

Last Updated: Jan 22, 2024 1:32 PM
URL: https://libguides.lib.miamioh.edu/LST402Neumann
Print Page